Ethiopian Investment Holdings
Ethiopian Investment Holdings: what it invests in
Geography Mainly domestic
Ethiopian Investment Holdings: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 45B. Press estimate reported by Ethiopian Monitor; EIH publishes no total.
Ethiopian Investment Holdings: what it publishes
Published 3 · Partly 5 · Not published 2
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
- Transparency scoreS1
- 5.5 of 10
At a glance. EIH is Ethiopia's sovereign wealth fund and state holding company, set up in December 2021. It owns about 40 state companies, including Ethiopian Airlines Group, Ethio Telecom and Commercial Bank of Ethiopia, across nine sectors. Media reports put the portfolio at about USD 45B; EIH does not publish a total. Portfolio companies earned ETB 262.7B before tax in 2024/25. S5 S1
Key points
- Portfolio revenue was ETB 2.05 trillion in 2024/25 and profit before tax rose 88 percent to ETB 262.7B. S5
- Targets for 2025/26 are ETB 2.75 trillion of revenue and ETB 412B of profit before tax. S5 S6
- Transport and logistics produced 66.8 percent of 2024/25 profit, finance 14 percent and power and communication 10 percent. S5
- Holds 40 percent of a USD 2.5B urea fertiliser complex in Gode built with Dangote Group. S7
- Owns 25 percent of the Ethiopian Securities Exchange, set up as a public-private partnership in 2023. S2
- Eight more enterprises joined the portfolio in December 2024 from the Public Enterprises Holding and Administration. S2
Interesting facts
- The Gode plant is planned at 3 million tonnes of urea a year, against national demand of about 1.2 million tonnes. S8
- Commercial Bank of Ethiopia, one of its holdings, reached 43.1 million customers and ETB 1.67 trillion of deposits in 2024/25. S5
- Its portfolio also includes the National Alcohol and Liquor Factory and the Federal Housing Corporation. S4
Mandate and goals
Improve the performance of public commercial assets through modern management and governance, and mobilise new investment through several platforms, to create wealth that finances development. S1
How it invests
| Industries | Transport and logistics, Financial services, Telecoms and media, Infrastructure and utilities, Agriculture and food security, Industrials and manufacturing, Mining and metals, Tourism and hospitality S1 S4 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Private equity, Infrastructure S4 S7 |
| Stages | Buyout, Infrastructure, Growth S7 S4 |
| Geography | Mainly domestic. Ethiopia, across nine sectors S5 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / No / Yes S4 S7 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size published S7 |
| Deal sizes seen | 40% of a USD 2.5B project (Dangote fertiliser, 2025) |
| External managers | Not published S1 |
| Co-investment programme | No formal programme; partners on specific projects such as Dangote Group, and a memorandum with Azerbaijan Investment Holding S7 S2 |
Sector weights: Transport and logistics (profit share) 66.8%, Finance 14%, Power and communication 10%, Agriculture and agro-industry 2.64%, Trading 2.02% (as of 2025-09-04) S5
Largest holdings: Ethiopian Airlines Group, Ethio Telecom, Commercial Bank of Ethiopia, Development Bank of Ethiopia, Ethiopian Shipping and Logistics, Ethiopian Electric Utility S4 S5
Published criteria
- Portfolio companies are held to six focus areas: product quality, asset use, financial management, technology, marketing and sustainable growth. S5
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Gode urea fertiliser complex. Shareholders' agreement with Dangote Group; construction began 5 October 2025 with a 40-month target. S7 S8 | Joint venture or partnership | Agriculture and food security | Infrastructure | USD 2.5B (project, 40% EIH) | 40% |
| 2025 | Azerbaijan Investment Holding memorandum. Cooperation memorandum signed in February 2025. S2 | Joint venture or partnership | Financial services | Not stated | Not published | |
| 2024 | Eight enterprises from PEHA. Eight enterprises moved in from the Public Enterprises Holding and Administration. S2 | State asset transfer | Industrials and manufacturing | Not stated | Not published | |
| 2023 | Ethiopian Securities Exchange. Took 25 percent of the new exchange in a public-private partnership. S2 | New company or platform | Financial services | Not stated | Not published | 25% |
| 2021 | Ethiopian Airlines Group. Largest portfolio company; passenger numbers rose 11 percent in 2024/25. S5 | State asset transfer | Transport and logistics | Not stated | Not published | |
| 2021 | Ethio Telecom. Voice subscribers up 15 percent in 2024/25. S5 | State asset transfer | Telecoms and media | Not stated | Not published |
Case studies
Fertiliser self-sufficiency with Dangote S7 S8
- What: EIH took 40 percent of a urea complex in Gode, with Dangote Group holding 60 percent.
- When: August 2025
- Size: Up to USD 2.5B project
- Why: Cut fertiliser imports using local gas from the Calub and Hilala fields.
- Outcome: Construction began in October 2025, targeting 3 million tonnes a year.
Building a capital market S2
- What: EIH took 25 percent of the new Ethiopian Securities Exchange and plans listings of portfolio companies.
- When: 2023
- Size: 25% stake
- Why: Creates an exit and funding route for state companies.
- Outcome: Ethiopian Shipping and Logistics and Ethiopian Insurance Corporation named for listing.
Investment process
A board composed mainly of ministers and the central bank governor oversees EIH; the CEO sits on it ex officio. EIH runs annual performance dialogues with each portfolio company. S1 S5
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Directors | Oversight; mainly ministers and the central bank governor S1 |
- Annual performance dialogue with each portfolio company, held 18 to 28 August in 2025. S5
- Results announced each September. S5
How to approach: Use the contact route on the EIH website. No intake programme for outside investors is published. S9
Size and returns
- Headline size: About USD 45B, estimate (Published estimate, as of 2025-09-04) S5
- In US dollars: about USD 45B. Press estimate reported by Ethiopian Monitor; EIH publishes no total.
- Portfolio revenue, 2024/25: ETB 2.05T (Published estimate, as of 2025-09-04) S5
- Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.
Leadership
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Council of Ministers Regulation No. 487/2014 E.C. on EIH objectives and organisation S1
- Oversight: Board of ministers and the central bank governor S1
- Santiago Principles: IFSWF associate member S3
- Member of the African Sovereign Investors Forum since July 2023. S2
- Audit reports of named portfolio companies are posted on the annual report page. S4
Transparency score: 5.5 of 10 (band 3 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2021-12 | EIH established. S1 |
| 2022-01-31 | Formal inauguration. S2 |
| 2023-07 | Joins the African Sovereign Investors Forum. S2 |
| 2023-10 | Takes 25 percent of the Ethiopian Securities Exchange. S2 |
| 2024-08 | Brook Taye appointed CEO. S2 |
| 2024-12 | Eight enterprises added to the portfolio. S2 |
| 2025-02 | Memorandum with Azerbaijan Investment Holding. S2 |
| 2025-08-29 | Dangote shareholders' agreement signed. S7 |
| 2025-09-03 | 2024/25 results published. S5 |
| 2025-10-05 | Gode construction starts. S8 |
For family offices
EIH publishes no programme for private investors. It says it aims to be a vehicle for foreign investment, and partners join through project agreements such as the Dangote venture. S1 S7
Reports
- Annual report and portfolio page: https://eih.et/annual-report/ S4
Common questions
How large is Ethiopian Investment Holdings?
Media reports put the portfolio at about USD 45B; EIH has not published its own total. S5
Who leads EIH?
Brook Taye is Chief Executive Officer. S1
What did the portfolio earn in 2024/25?
ETB 262.7B before tax on ETB 2.05 trillion of revenue. S5
Is EIH an IFSWF member?
Yes, an associate member. S3
What is the Dangote deal?
A USD 2.5B urea fertiliser complex in Gode, owned 40 percent by EIH and 60 percent by Dangote Group. S7
Related profiles
- Mutapa Investment Fund (Zimbabwe) Zimbabwe · USD 16.5B
- Libyan Investment Authority Libya · About USD 51.8B (direct portfolio incl. cash)
- Fundo Soberano de Angola (FSDEA) Angola · USD 4.72B
- Caisse des Depots et Consignations Tunisia Tunisia · TND 13.52B
- Royal Bafokeng Holdings South Africa (Royal Bafokeng Nation, North West province) · R66B
- Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority Nigeria · USD 3.40B NAV
All sovereign wealth funds in Africa · All state holding companys · All funds in Ethiopia
Sources
- S1Ethiopian Investment Holdings, About us
- S2Wikipedia, Ethiopian Investment Holdings
- S3IFSWF, associate members
- S4Ethiopian Investment Holdings, Annual report page and portfolio
- S5Ethiopian Monitor, EIH annual profit growth, 4 September 2025
- S6Ethiopian Capital Market, EIH 2024-25 performance
- S7EIH, official statement on the Dangote shareholders' agreement, August 2025
- S8Afriqom, Dangote breaks ground on Gode fertiliser complex, 7 October 2025
- S9Ethiopian Investment Holdings, home page
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
