Libyan Investment Authority
Libyan Investment Authority: what it invests in
Geography Domestic and global
Libyan Investment Authority: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 51.8B. Fund publishes USD
2025 return USD 2B
Libyan Investment Authority: what it publishes
Published 5 · Partly 4 · Not published 1
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
- Transparency scoreS10
- 7.0 of 10
At a glance. LIA is Libya's sovereign wealth fund, set up in 2006 to invest surplus oil revenue for future generations. Its directly managed portfolio, including cash, was about USD 51.8B at 31 March 2026, mostly term deposits and listed equities. Five subsidiaries, including LAFICO and Oilinvest, own more than 450 companies and 200 properties across Africa, Europe and the Americas, last valued at USD 28.2B in 2019. S4 S5 S6
Key points
- Earned USD 2B in 2025 on USD 41.7B of directly held assets, a yield of 4.79 percent. S5
- Q1 2026 portfolio: term deposits USD 25.2B, equities USD 13.5B, investment funds USD 3.9B, plus USD 9.22B of uninvested cash. S4
- Q1 2026 income was USD 307.7M from dividends and deposit interest. S4
- Deloitte valued the whole group at USD 68.353B at end 2019, across 439 business assets and 203 property assets. S7
- Plans to reinvest about USD 5B of cash in low-risk instruments under exemptions in UN Security Council Resolution 2819. S4 S8
- An advisory firm is revaluing subsidiary assets for 2025. S4
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
Law No. 13 of 2010 charges the board with preserving, protecting and growing the sovereign wealth; the stated aim is sustainable returns for future generations. S3 S10
How it invests
| Industries | Real estate, Tourism and hospitality, Energy: oil and gas, Financial services, Industrials and manufacturing, Infrastructure and utilities, Agriculture and food security S7 S6 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Cash and money markets, Public equities, Fixed income, Hedge funds and absolute return, Real estate, Strategic state holdings S4 S7 |
| Stages | Public markets, Real estate, Buyout S4 S7 |
| Geography | Domestic and global. 2019 split excluding cash; Africa mostly businesses and property, North America mostly funds S7 S6 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / Not published S7 S4 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size published S4 |
| Deal sizes seen | USD 2B (Qatar joint fund, 2007) |
| External managers | Fund investments held with custodians including HSBC and Deutsche Bank in 2019; most of the fund book was managed in house S7 |
| Co-investment programme | No programme; partnerships are state to state, such as the 2026 memorandum with Oman's OQ S12 S3 |
Asset mix: Term deposits 48.6%, Equities 26.1%, Uninvested cash 17.8%, Investment funds 7.5% (as of 2026-06-15) S4
Sector weights: Real estate and hospitality 63%, Oil and gas 20%, Financial services 11%, Manufacturing and industrial 6% (as of 2021) S7
Largest country weights: Europe 37%, USA and Canada 33%, Africa 23%, Middle East and Asia 6% S7
Largest holdings: Long Term Portfolio USD 11,047M (2019) (100%), Libyan Local Investment and Development Fund USD 8,918M (2019) (100%), LAFICO USD 4,466M (2019) (100%), Libyan Africa Investment Portfolio USD 2,166M (2019) (100%), Oilinvest USD 1,634M (2019) (100%) (as of 2021) S7
Published criteria
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | OQ Exploration and Production memorandum. Memorandum with the Omani company on oil, energy and joint investments; technical committees planned. S12 | Joint venture or partnership | Energy: oil and gas | Not stated | Not published | |
| 2026 | Cash reinvestment plan. Planned reinvestment of idle cash in low-risk deposits and fixed income. S4 | Direct investment | Multi-sector | Credit | About USD 5B | |
| 2007 | Libya-Qatar joint fund. Joint investment fund with Qatar. S3 | Joint venture or partnership | Multi-sector | Not stated | USD 2B | |
| 2007 | BP exploration agreement. 15 percent partner in a production sharing agreement signed through the National Oil Corporation. S3 | Joint venture or partnership | Energy: oil and gas | Not stated | Not published | 15% |
| Not published | Juventus (via LAFICO). LAFICO held 7.5 percent of the club at June 2010. S3 | Direct investment | Sports, entertainment and gaming | Public markets | Not published | 7.5% |
Case studies
Valuing the whole group S7
- What: Deloitte valued every LIA entity, from the direct portfolio to five subsidiaries.
- When: 2020 (values at end 2019)
- Size: USD 68.353B
- Why: To give the board a full fair value across 439 businesses and 203 properties.
- Outcome: Direct portfolio was 58.7 percent of value; a new subsidiary revaluation for 2025 is under way.
Putting idle cash to work S4 S8
- What: LIA applied for licences to reinvest about USD 5B of its USD 9.22B of uninvested cash.
- When: 2026
- Size: About USD 5B
- Why: Resolution 2819 clarified that cash may go into low-risk deposits and fixed income.
Investment process
A Board of Trustees chaired by the Prime Minister, with the finance, planning and economy ministers and the central bank governor, is the top body. It appoints a seven-member Board of Directors that runs investments through four committees. S3 S10
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Investment Committee | Investment decisions and policy S10 |
| Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee | Audit and risk oversight S10 |
| Recruitment and Remuneration Committee | Staffing and pay S10 |
| Governance Committee | Governance across the group S10 |
- Board of Trustees sets direction; Board of Directors approves investments under the Investment Policy Statement. S3 S11
- A Corporate Governance Division oversees subsidiary boards, policies and ESG. S13
- Cash reinvestment requests go through the host Member State and need prior approval under UN procedures. S4 S8
How to approach: Use the contact page on the LIA website. No intake programme for outside investors is published. S14
Size and returns
- Headline size: About USD 51.8B (direct portfolio incl. cash) (Portfolio value, as of 2026-06-15) S4
- In US dollars: about USD 51.8B. Fund publishes USD
- Group valuation, end 2019 (Deloitte): USD 68.353B (Fair value of state company holdings, as of 2021) S7
- Subsidiaries, 2019 valuation: USD 28.2B (Fair value of state company holdings, as of 2025-12-31) S5
- Return, 2025: 4.79 percent (yield on directly held financial assets) S5
- Size over time (USD billion): 2010 64, 2012 67, 2019 68.353 S3 S7
Leadership
| Name | Title | Since |
|---|---|---|
| Ali Mahmoud Hassan Mohamed | Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer S10 | 2017 |
| Youssef Ahmed Al Mabrouk | Vice Chairman S10 | 2019-02 |
| Anas Saad Lamin | Board member S10 | Not published |
| Ahmed Abdullah Ammar | Board member S10 | Not published |
| Mustafa Mohamed Elmanea | Board member S10 | Not published |
| Abdul Hamid Dbeibah | Chairman, Board of Trustees; Prime Minister S9 | Not published |
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Law No. 13 of 2010; organisational structure approved by Board of Trustees decision 12 of 2012 S3 S13
- Oversight: Board of Trustees led by the Prime Minister S3
- Auditor: Separate financial statements audited to 2024; consolidated IFRS statements prepared to 2022 S4
- Santiago Principles: IFSWF member; publishes a 2020 IFSWF self-assessment S11 S2
- Publishes a board charter, investment policy statement and risk, compliance and procurement policies. S11
- Strategy 2025 to 2027 and sustainability reports for 2024 and 2025 are on its reports page. S11
Transparency score: 7.0 of 10 (band 4 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2006-08-28 | LIA established. S1 |
| 2007 | BP exploration agreement and Libya-Qatar fund. S3 |
| 2010 | Law No. 13 of 2010 sets the current structure. S1 |
| 2012 | Deloitte validates value at USD 67B. S3 |
| 2017 | Ali Mahmoud Hassan Mohamed becomes Chairman and CEO. S10 |
| 2019-12-31 | Project Alfa values the group at USD 68.353B. S7 |
| 2026-04-14 | Resolution 2819 adopted. S8 |
| 2026-05-07 | Strategic roadmap update. S15 |
| 2026-06-03 | OQ memorandum moves to executive tracks. S12 |
| 2026-06-15 | Q1 2026 results published. S4 |
For family offices
LIA publishes no co-investment or partner programme. Its recent partnerships are with state companies, such as Oman's OQ, and new investment of cash is limited to low-risk instruments. S12 S4
- State-to-state memoranda in oil, energy and joint investments. S12
Reports
- Statement on 2025 financial performance: https://lia.ly/en/media_releases/libyan-investment-authority-statement-on-2025-financial-performance-results/ S5
- Statement on Q1 2026 performance: https://lia.ly/en/media_releases/statement-on-first-quarter-2026-financial-and-investment-performance/ S4
- Project Alfa executive summary: https://lia.ly/mahupam/2021/07/Project-Alfa_Executive-Summary_2021-en-1.pdf S7
- Reports and data: https://lia.ly/en/reports-data/ S11
Common questions
How big is the Libyan Investment Authority?
Its directly managed portfolio, including cash, was about USD 51.8B at 31 March 2026. Subsidiaries were valued at USD 28.2B in 2019. S4 S5
What return does LIA earn?
USD 2B in 2025, a yield of 4.79 percent on USD 41.7B of directly held assets. S5
Who leads LIA?
Ali Mahmoud Hassan Mohamed, Chairman of the Board and CEO since 2017. S10
Is LIA an IFSWF member?
Yes, it is listed on the IFSWF members page. S2
What are its main subsidiaries?
LAFICO, Oilinvest, the Libyan Africa Investment Portfolio, the Libyan Local Investment and Development Fund and the Long Term Portfolio. S3
Related profiles
- Fundo Soberano de Angola (FSDEA) Angola · USD 4.72B
- Royal Bafokeng Holdings South Africa (Royal Bafokeng Nation, North West province) · R66B
- Pula Fund (Botswana, Bank of Botswana) Botswana · BWP 27.87B
- Fundo Soberano de Mocambique (FSM) Mozambique · USD 144.4M
- Fund for Future Generations (Equatorial Guinea) Equatorial Guinea · FCFA 57B (USD 95.2M), estimate
- Petroleum Revenue Investment Reserve (Uganda) Uganda · UGX 212.6B
All sovereign wealth funds in Africa · All savings and future generations funds · All funds in Libya
Sources
- S1LIA, About us
- S2IFSWF, our members
- S3Wikipedia, Libyan Investment Authority
- S4LIA, statement on first quarter 2026 performance, 15 June 2026
- S5LIA, statement on 2025 financial performance
- S6LIA, Our portfolio
- S7LIA, Project Alfa executive summary (Deloitte valuation at 31 December 2019)
- S8UN Security Council, Resolution 2819 (2026)
- S9LIA, statement on Resolution 2819, 15 April 2026
- S10LIA, Board of Directors
- S11LIA, Reports and data
- S12LIA, discussions with OQ on the memorandum of understanding, 3 June 2026
- S13LIA, Our leadership
- S14LIA, Contact us
- S15LIA, progress on the strategic roadmap, 7 May 2026
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
