Crown Investments Corporation of Saskatchewan (CIC)
CIC: what it invests in
Geography Mainly domestic
CIC: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 19.3B. Converted at 1.3935 Canadian dollars per US dollar on 31 March 2026.
Return on equity 2025-26 2.5% (7.6% in 2024-25)
CIC: what it publishes
Published 8 · Partly 2 · Not published 0
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. CIC is the Saskatchewan government's holding company for its commercial Crown corporations, including SaskPower, SaskTel, SaskEnergy and SGI CANADA. Its consolidated balance sheet held C$26.85 billion of assets at 31 March 2026, about USD 19.3 billion, mostly power, gas and telecom networks. It sets Crown sector policy, approves capital plans and passes dividends to the province. S1
Key points
- Owns six commercial Crown corporations and one wholly owned subsidiary, CIC Asset Management Inc. S1
- Utilities make up 91.0 percent of assets; SaskPower alone is 59.6 percent. S1
- Crowns spent C$2.6 billion on infrastructure in 2025-26, including C$1.6 billion at SaskPower. S1
- Paid C$68.0 million of dividends to the province and C$187.0 million to SaskPower for customer rate relief in 2025-26. S1
- Consolidated net earnings were C$173.3 million in 2025-26, a return on equity of 2.5 percent. S1
- CIC itself carries no debt; the Crowns borrow in their own names, with a consolidated debt ratio of 66.4 percent. S1
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
Under The Crown Corporations Act, 1993, CIC is the holding company for all subsidiary Crown corporations and the agency that makes and administers investments for the Government of Saskatchewan. S1
How it invests
| Industries | Infrastructure and utilities, Energy: oil and gas, Telecoms and media, Financial services, Sports, entertainment and gaming S1 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Fixed income, Cash and money markets S1 |
| Stages | Infrastructure S1 |
| Geography | Mainly domestic. Saskatchewan; SGI CANADA also writes insurance in Alberta S1 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / No / No S1 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size is published; investment happens through subsidiary capital plans. S1 |
| External managers | Not described S1 |
| Co-investment programme | No co-investment programme at CIC level S1 |
Asset mix: SaskPower 59.6%, SaskEnergy 15.3%, SaskTel 14.5%, SGI CANADA 7.6%, Other 3.0% (as of 2026-03-31) S1
Sector weights: Utilities 91.0%, Insurance 7.6%, Entertainment 1.2%, Other 0.2% (as of 2026-03-31) S1
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not published | SaskPower. Provincial power utility; 59.6 percent of consolidated assets and C$1.6 billion invested in the grid in 2025-26. S1 | Direct investment | Infrastructure and utilities | Infrastructure | C$16,004.8M assets | 100% |
| 2026 | SaskPower Lanigan generating station. A 370 megawatt natural gas power plant near Lanigan, more than halfway built at the report date. S1 | New company or platform | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | Not published | |
| Not published | SaskEnergy. Natural gas delivery utility; 15.3 percent of assets and C$84.4 million of net earnings. S1 | Direct investment | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | C$430M capex 2025-26 | 100% |
| Not published | SaskTel. Telecom provider extending fibre and 5G; 14.5 percent of assets and C$104.7 million of net earnings. S1 | Direct investment | Telecoms and media | Infrastructure | Not published | 100% |
| Not published | SGI CANADA. Property and casualty insurer in Saskatchewan and Alberta with 978,080 active policies; C$75.7 million of net earnings. S1 | Direct investment | Financial services | Not stated | Not published | 100% |
| Not published | Lotteries and Gaming Saskatchewan. Largest earner in 2025-26 at C$240.0 million; pays out 90 percent of earnings as dividends. S1 | Direct investment | Sports, entertainment and gaming | Not stated | Not published | 100% |
| Not published | SaskWater. Water utility that added 68 km of pipelines in 2025-26; C$7.9 million of net earnings. S1 | Direct investment | Infrastructure and utilities | Infrastructure | Not published | 100% |
Case studies
Capital allocation across the Crowns S1
- What: CIC sets a payout rate for each Crown: SaskPower 10 percent, SaskEnergy 35, SaskTel 40, SaskWater 60 and LGS 90.
- When: 2025-26
- Size: C$2.6B capex; C$68.0M dividends
- Why: Cash goes first to reinvestment, then debt reduction if needed, then dividends.
- Outcome: C$187.0M of dividends redirected to SaskPower rate relief.
Funding the provincial grid build S1
- What: SaskPower invested C$1.6B in 2025-26 and is building a 370 MW plant near Lanigan.
- When: 2025-26
- Size: C$1.6B
- Why: Growing demand needs new generation and grid capacity.
- Outcome: Lanigan plant more than halfway complete.
Investment process
A board of cabinet ministers oversees CIC. CIC approves the Crowns' capital plans, sets dividend payout rates and reports to the Standing Committee on Crown and Central Agencies. S1
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| CIC Board of Directors | Provincial ministers; chaired by the Minister responsible for CIC S4 |
- Each Crown proposes a capital spending plan for CIC to authorise. S1
- CIC applies its Subsidiary Dividend Policy to set payout rates. S1
- Dividends flow to CIC, which pays the General Revenue Fund under the CIC Dividend Policy. S1
- Equity advances or repayments adjust Crown capital when needed. S1
How to approach: No external intake route; suppliers deal with each Crown directly. S5
Size and returns
- Headline size: C$26,852.8M (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2026-03-31) S1
- In US dollars: about USD 19.3B. Converted at 1.3935 Canadian dollars per US dollar on 31 March 2026.
- Province's equity: C$6,901.3M (Net assets or equity, as of 2026-03-31) S1
- Financial investments incl. securities lent: C$3,073.9M (Portfolio value, as of 2026-03-31) S1
- Return, 2025-26: 2.5 percent (consolidated return on equity; 7.6 percent in 2024-25) S1
- Staff: More than 11,000 employees across the Crown sector S1
- Size over time (CAD million): 2025-03-31 25,198.4, 2026-03-31 26,852.8 S1
Leadership
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: The Crown Corporations Act, 1993 S1
- Oversight: Standing Committee on Crown and Central Agencies; Provincial Auditor of Saskatchewan S1
- Auditor: KPMG LLP, with the Provincial Auditor S1
- Not an IFSWF member. S3
- Board members are provincial cabinet ministers. S1
- Governance and disclosure modelled on listed company practice where it can apply. S1
Transparency score: 9.0 of 10 (band 5 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
For family offices
CIC does not invest alongside private capital and has no external programme. Its relevance is as owner of the province's utilities, which buy from local and Indigenous suppliers. S1
- Supplying the Crowns, which prioritise local and Indigenous suppliers. S1
Reports
Common questions
Is CIC a sovereign wealth fund?
It is a provincial holding company whose C$26.85 billion balance sheet is mostly utility assets. Its own financial investments are about C$3.2 billion. S1
Who runs CIC?
Kent Campbell is President and CEO; Jeremy Harrison is Chair. S1 S4
How much does it pay the province?
C$68.0 million of dividends in 2025-26, plus C$187.0 million paid to SaskPower for rate relief. S1
Which Crowns does it own?
SaskPower, SaskTel, SaskEnergy, SaskWater, SGI CANADA, Lotteries and Gaming Saskatchewan and CIC Asset Management Inc. S1
Related profiles
- Canada Pension Plan Investment Board Canada · C$863.6B
- Alaska Permanent Fund United States (Alaska) · USD 91.9B
- New Mexico State Investment Council (SIC) United States (New Mexico) · USD 74.63B
- Texas Permanent School Fund United States (Texas) · USD 60.6B
- Texas Permanent University Fund (PUF) United States (Texas) · USD 40.29B
- Texas Economic Stabilization Fund (Rainy Day Fund) United States (Texas) · USD 24.8B
All sovereign wealth funds in North America · All state holding companys · All funds in Canada
Sources
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
