Emirates Investment Authority (EIA)
EIA: what it invests in
Geography Domestic and global
EIA: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 116B. Press estimate reported by Khaleej Times; EIA does not publish its size.
EIA: what it publishes
Published 2 · Partly 3 · Not published 5
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. The Emirates Investment Authority is the sovereign wealth fund of the UAE federal government, set up in 2007. It holds controlling stakes in the two national telecoms groups, e& and du, and a global portfolio run largely through external fund managers. It does not publish its size; press reports put it at about USD 116 billion. The board is chaired by Vice President Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan. S1 S6 S7 S4
Key points
- Holds 50.1 percent of du and a Special Share in e& that gives preferential rights over certain decisions. S8 S3
- Has taken more than 30 stakes in companies across the GCC, including Gulf International Bank and the Gulf Investment Corporation. S7
- Sets an annual Policy Portfolio and models its asset allocation on high-performing endowments; weights are not published. S9
- Sits on the boards of its portfolio companies and works on governance and management depth. S6
- A 2021 strategy tied future investment to the UAE development goals in the Principles of the 50. S10
- Publishes no annual report, accounts or return figure; in July 2026 the board noted positive returns without a number. S11 S12
Interesting facts
- It is the only sovereign wealth fund of the UAE federal government; Abu Dhabi, Dubai and the other emirates run their own. S7
- The board includes the federal ministers of economy, industry and investment and the central bank governor. S4
- It runs an Investment Leadership Program to train UAE national talent for investment careers. S13
Mandate and goals
Its founding decree tasks it with managing the sovereign wealth of the UAE through a diversified portfolio in key sectors, aiming for lasting financial gains for the country. S1
How it invests
| Industries | Telecoms and media, Financial services, Transport and logistics S6 S7 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Public equities, Private equity, Fixed income S9 S6 |
| Stages | Public markets, Growth S6 |
| Geography | Domestic and global. Strategic holdings in the UAE and the GCC; the rest of the portfolio is global S6 S7 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / Not published S6 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size is published. S14 |
| External managers | Uses a network of global fund managers; names are not published S6 |
| Co-investment programme | Not published S14 |
Largest holdings: du (Emirates Integrated Telecommunications) (50.1%), e& (Etisalat) S3 S8
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 | e& (Etisalat). Federal government 60 percent holding moved to the EIA on 1 January 2008, with a Special Share. S3 | State asset transfer | Telecoms and media | Public markets | 60% |
| Not published | du (Emirates Integrated Telecommunications). Second UAE telecoms operator; the EIA is the majority shareholder. S8 S7 | Direct investment | Telecoms and media | Public markets | 50.1% |
| Not published | Gulf International Bank. Bank owned by GCC states. S7 | Direct investment | Financial services | Not stated | |
| Not published | United Arab Shipping Company. Container shipping line. S7 | Direct investment | Transport and logistics | Not stated | |
| Not published | Gulf Investment Corporation. Investment firm owned by GCC states. S7 | Direct investment | Financial services | Not stated |
Case studies
e&: holding a national champion S3 S6
- What: Took over the federal government stake in Etisalat, now e&, with a Special Share.
- When: 1 January 2008
- Size: 60 percent stake at transfer
- Why: To hold strategic national assets and support their growth through board seats and governance.
- Outcome: e& reports the EIA as its main shareholder in 2026 filings.
A 2021 reset toward national goals S10
- What: Launched a strategy linking investment to the UAE development goals in the Principles of the 50.
- When: November 2021
- Size: Not published
- Why: To raise future levels of investment in step with national priorities.
Investment process
A board of federal ministers and senior officials, chaired by Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed, oversees the fund and reviews performance; the CEO leads an internal team of investment specialists that sets an annual Policy Portfolio. S4 S11 S9
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Directors | Chair, Deputy Chair and federal ministers; reviews activity and performance S4 |
- Set the annual Policy Portfolio, with endowment-style asset allocation. S9
- Research and assess opportunities with a focus on long-term value rather than short cycles. S6
- Invest directly in strategic companies or through external fund managers. S6
- Join portfolio company boards and work on governance and management skills. S6
How to approach: No proposal process is published. The contact form on the fund website is the only listed route. S13
Size and returns
- Headline size: About USD 116B, estimate (Published estimate, as of 2026-01-05) S16
- In US dollars: about USD 116B. Press estimate reported by Khaleej Times; EIA does not publish its size.
- Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.
Leadership
| Name | Title |
|---|---|
| Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan | Chairman; Vice President and Deputy Prime Minister S4 |
| Mohamed Hamad Al Mehairi | Chief Executive Officer S5 |
| Mohamed Hadi Al Hussaini | Deputy Chairman; Minister of State for Financial Affairs S4 |
| Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber | Board member; Minister of Industry and Advanced Technology S4 |
| Abdulla bin Touq Al Marri | Board member; Minister of Economy S4 |
| Mohamed Hassan Al Suwaidi | Board member; Minister of Investment S4 |
| Khaled Mohammed Balama | Board member; Governor of the Central Bank of the UAE S4 |
| Hareb Masood Al Darmaki | Board member S11 S7 |
| Kaltham Hamad Al Ghfeli | Board member S11 S7 |
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Federal Decree Law No. 4 of 2007, amended by Federal Decree Law No. 13 of 2009 S1
- Oversight: Board chaired by Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, with federal ministers as members S4
- No annual report or financial statements are published; listed holdings disclose the stake in their own filings. S12 S3
- Not an IFSWF member and no Santiago Principles self-assessment is published. S2
Transparency score: 3.5 of 10 (band 2 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2007 | Founded under Federal Decree Law No. 4 of 2007. S1 |
| 2008-01-01 | Federal 60 percent stake in Etisalat transferred in. S3 |
| 2009 | Founding law amended by Federal Decree Law No. 13 of 2009. S1 |
| 2021-11-29 | New strategy tied to the Principles of the 50. S10 |
| 2025-08-30 | CEO meets the Crown Prince of Ajman on cooperation with local entities. S15 |
| 2026-07-14 | Board meeting reviews performance. S11 |
For family offices
No co-investment or partner programme is published. The portfolio uses outside fund managers, but there is no public manager intake. S6 S13
Reports
- Media and resources: https://www.eia.gov.ae/media-resources/ S12
Common questions
How big is the Emirates Investment Authority?
It does not publish its size. Press reports estimate about USD 116 billion. S7
Who runs the EIA?
CEO Mohamed Hamad Al Mehairi. Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan chairs the board. S4 S5
What are its best-known holdings?
e& (Etisalat), where it holds a Special Share, and du, where it holds 50.1 percent. S8 S3
When was it set up?
In 2007, under Federal Decree Law No. 4 of 2007. S1
Is it an IFSWF member?
No. S2
Related profiles
- Abu Dhabi Investment Authority (ADIA) United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · About USD 1.1T, estimate
- Kuwait Investment Authority Kuwait · About USD 1T, estimate
- Qatar Investment Authority (QIA) Qatar · About USD 580B, estimate
- Awqaf and Islamic Affairs Fund (Kuwait) Kuwait · KWD 1.47B
- Citizens Fund (Israel) Israel · USD 2.79B
- Bahrain Future Generations Reserve Fund Bahrain · USD 1.11B
All sovereign wealth funds in Middle East · All savings and future generations funds · All funds in United Arab Emirates
Sources
- S1Emirates Investment Authority, The Decree
- S2IFSWF, members list
- S3e&, interim financial report Q2 2026
- S4Emirates Investment Authority, Board of directors
- S5Emirates Investment Authority, CEO's message
- S6Emirates Investment Authority, Our portfolio
- S7Wikipedia, Emirates Investment Authority (revision of 10 August 2026)
- S8du, shareholders page
- S9Emirates Investment Authority, Our objectives
- S10Emirates Investment Authority, strategy launch, November 2021
- S11Emirates Investment Authority, board meeting chaired by Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed, 14 July 2026
- S12Emirates Investment Authority, Media and resources
- S13Emirates Investment Authority, Contact us
- S14Emirates Investment Authority, home page
- S15Emirates Investment Authority, CEO received by the Crown Prince of Ajman
- S16Khaleej Times, UAE sovereign fund assets, 5 January 2026
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
