Kuwait Investment Authority
Kuwait Investment Authority: what it invests in
Geography Domestic and global
Kuwait Investment Authority: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 1,000B. Press estimate reported by Reuters; KIA does not publish its assets.
Kuwait Investment Authority: what it publishes
Published 2 · Partly 3 · Not published 5
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. KIA is Kuwait's sovereign wealth fund and traces its roots to a London office opened in 1953, making it the oldest fund of its kind. It runs two pools for the State: the General Reserve Fund, the treasury account that receives oil revenue, and the Future Generations Fund, invested entirely abroad. Assets are not disclosed by law; Reuters put them at about USD 1 trillion in March 2026. S1 S4 S5
Key points
- Press estimates of total assets rose from about USD 846B in July 2024 to about USD 1,002B in July 2025 and about USD 1,072B in May 2026. S6 S5
- Article 8 of Law 47 of 1982 bars public statements on invested funds; KIA reports instead to the Council of Ministers and an annual closed session of the National Assembly. S2
- The Future Generations Fund was seeded in 1976 with half the reserve fund balance and for decades took at least 10 percent of state revenue each year. S4
- Since Law 18 of 2020, transfers to the Future Generations Fund happen only in surplus years and on the minister's recommendation. S4
- Mostly invests through external managers abroad; the London office trades directly, and dedicated vehicles hold real estate (St Martins, Fosterlane, Breadstreet) and infrastructure (Wren House). S4
- In 2026 it was reported as the first non-founder financial anchor of the USD 30B Microsoft and BlackRock AI Infrastructure Partnership. S5
- In July 2025 it sold about USD 6.5B of AIA Group and Bank of America shares in one week. S7
Interesting facts
- The Kuwait Investment Board was founded in London in February 1953, eight years before Kuwait became independent. S2
- During the 1990 to 1991 Gulf War, the London office served as the finance ministry of the government in exile. S8
- KIA hosted the April 2009 meeting that produced the Kuwait Declaration, which led to the creation of the IFSWF. S4
Mandate and goals
Under Article 2 of Law 47 of 1982, KIA manages the General Reserve Fund, the money set aside for the Future Generations Fund, and any other funds the responsible minister entrusts to it, all for the account of the State. S4
- Earn a long-term return on Kuwait's oil wealth so future generations share in it. S4 S2
- Beat composite benchmarks for the Future Generations Fund on a rolling three-year basis through allocation, manager selection and tactical moves. S4
- Use the General Reserve Fund to support the local economy through state stakes, market development and privatisation, with a MENA focus. S4
- Invest only in projects with clear profitability targets, as a commercially driven owner with a long horizon. S4
- Return target: Exceed composite benchmarks on a three-year rolling average (Future Generations Fund) S4
How it invests
| Industries | Financial services, Technology, Infrastructure and utilities, Real estate, Industrials and manufacturing, Energy: oil and gas, Healthcare and life sciences. Sector agnostic S4 S5 S8 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Public equities, Fixed income, Private equity, Real estate, Infrastructure, Hedge funds and absolute return, Strategic state holdings S4 S2 |
| Stages | Public markets, Buyout, Infrastructure, Real estate, Growth S4 S2 |
| Geography | Domestic and global. Future Generations Fund invested entirely outside Kuwait, weighted to world GDP and market capitalisation; General Reserve Fund focused on MENA S4 S2 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / Yes S4 S2 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size published S8 S7 S5 |
| Deal sizes seen | About USD 200M (CITIC Securities IPO, 2011) to USD 3B (Citigroup, 2008) |
| External managers | Uses external fund managers for most assets outside Kuwait; some Kuwaiti financial firms receive local and overseas mandates S4 S2 |
| Co-investment programme | No published programme; recent deals are alongside managers such as KKR, Microsoft and BlackRock, and Samsung Securities with Keppel S5 S12 |
Largest holdings: BlackRock, Mercedes-Benz Group, GEA Group (6.99%) (dates from 2025-07-13 to 2026-09-04) S6 S10
Published criteria
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Health Assurance Hospitals Company. Decree-Law No. 50 of 2026 reported to move the 50 percent of shares meant for a public offering to KIA. S13 | State asset transfer | Healthcare and life sciences | Not stated | Not published | 50% |
| 2026 | GEA Group (partial sale). Voting rights fell from 10.50 percent to 6.99 percent, per a German filing of 4 September 2026. S10 | Sale or exit | Industrials and manufacturing | Public markets | Not published | 6.99% |
| 2026 | Microsoft and BlackRock AI Infrastructure Partnership. Reported as first non-founder financial anchor of the USD 30B AI infrastructure partnership. S5 | Fund commitment | Technology | Infrastructure | Not published | |
| 2025 | AIA Group (sale). Shares sold in July 2025 as part of a wider exit from financial stocks. S7 | Sale or exit | Financial services | Public markets | About USD 3.4B | |
| 2025 | Bank of America (sale). Shares sold in the same week in July 2025. S7 | Sale or exit | Financial services | Public markets | About USD 3.1B | |
| 2018 | North Sea Midstream Partners. Bought by the infrastructure arm. S8 | Direct investment | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | About GBP 1.3B | |
| 2011 | CITIC Securities IPO. Order in the Hong Kong listing. S8 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | USD 200M | |
| 2010 | AIA Group. Stake taken in the insurer. S8 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | USD 1B | |
| 2010 | Agricultural Bank of China. Stake taken in the bank. S8 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | USD 800M | |
| 2009 | BlackRock. Stake in the asset manager. S8 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | USD 750M | |
| 2009 | Gulf Bank of Kuwait. Took a 16 percent stake. S8 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | Not published | 16% |
| 2008 | Citigroup preferred shares. Bought in January 2008 and sold for USD 4.1B in December 2009. S8 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | USD 3B | |
| 2008 | Merrill Lynch preferred shares. Part of a USD 6.6B issue. S8 | Co-investment | Financial services | Public markets | About USD 2B | |
| 2006 | ICBC. Investment in the Chinese bank. S8 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | USD 720M |
Case studies
Citigroup preferred shares, 2008 to 2009 S8
- What: KIA bought USD 3B of Citigroup preferred shares in January 2008.
- When: 2008 to 2009
- Size: USD 3B
- Why: A large, liquid position in a global bank at a time when banks were raising capital from long-term investors.
- Outcome: Sold in December 2009 for USD 4.1B.
Rotating out of financials, 2025 S7
- What: KIA sold about USD 3.4B of AIA Group and USD 3.1B of Bank of America shares within one week.
- When: July 2025
- Size: About USD 6.5B
- Why: Part of a shift away from listed financial stocks.
Anchoring AI infrastructure S5
- What: Reported as the first non-founder financial anchor of the Microsoft and BlackRock AI Infrastructure Partnership.
- When: 2026
- Size: Partnership of USD 30B
- Why: Fits a stated plan of about USD 9B for digital and AI over five years.
Investment process
The Board sets long-term allocation and has full independence in its decisions. It picks the Managing Director and appoints the Executive Committee, which the Managing Director chairs and which reviews strategy monthly. S4
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Directors | Long-term asset allocation and performance; reset strategy every three to five years S4 |
| Executive Committee | Chaired by the Managing Director; monthly strategy review S4 |
| Board Audit Committee | Includes two private-sector members; works with the internal audit office S4 S2 |
- Board sets the strategic allocation, weighted to world GDP and market size. S4
- Executive Committee reviews it monthly and makes tactical changes. S4
- External managers are selected for most non-Kuwait mandates; the London office trades directly. S4
- A risk and performance unit reporting to the Managing Director tracks results. S2
How to approach: No public intake form. Managers usually reach KIA through the Kuwait Investment Office in London, the Shanghai office or advisers. S4 S2
Size and returns
- Headline size: About USD 1T, estimate (Published estimate, as of 2026-03-06) S16
- In US dollars: about USD 1,000B. Press estimate reported by Reuters; KIA does not publish its assets.
- Assets under management, press description, September 2026: More than USD 1T (Published estimate, as of 2026-09-04) S9
- Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.
- Size over time (USD billion): 2024-07 846, 2025-07 1,002, 2026-05 1,072 S5 S6
Leadership
| Name | Title | Since |
|---|---|---|
| Abdulaziz AlMarzooq | Chairman; State Minister for Economic Affairs and Investment S1 | Not published |
| Sheikh Saoud Salem Abdulaziz Al-Sabah | Managing Director S11 S14 | 2025-08 |
| Tareq Al-Roumi | Board member; Minister of Oil S1 | Not published |
| Aseel Al-Munifi | Board member; Undersecretary, Ministry of Finance S1 | Not published |
| Basel Al-Haroon | Board member S1 | Not published |
| Sheikh Dr Meshaal Jaber Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah | Board member S1 | Not published |
| Mahmoud Al-Marzouq | Board member S1 | Not published |
| Danah Al-Mulla | Board member S1 | Not published |
| Salah Al-Fouzan | Board member S1 | Not published |
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Independent public authority with legal personality under Law 47 of 1982, attached to the minister for economic affairs and investment S4
- Oversight: Reports to the minister, the Council of Ministers and the National Assembly; State Audit Bureau staff monitor on site S4 S2
- Auditor: An international external audit firm, not named publicly, plus the State Audit Bureau S2
- Santiago Principles: Full IFSWF member; self-assessments listed for 2016, 2019 and 2022 S3
- The Board has the minister as chair, the oil minister, the finance undersecretary and the central bank governor, plus five investment experts named by Amiri decree for four years, at least three without public office. S1
- An internal audit office reports to the Board. S4
Transparency score: 3.5 of 10 (band 2 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 1953-02 | Kuwait Investment Board set up in London. S2 |
| 1965 | Replaced by the Kuwait Investment Office. S8 |
| 1976 | Future Generations Fund created by Amiri decree. S2 |
| 1982 | KIA created by Law 47. S2 |
| 2009-04 | Kuwait Declaration leads to the IFSWF. S4 |
| 2017-12 | One Planet SWF group founded with KIA as a founding member. S1 |
| 2018 | KIO Shanghai opens. S1 |
| 2020 | Future Generations Fund transfer rule changed by Law 18 of 2020. S4 |
| 2025-08 | New board by Amiri decree; Sheikh Saoud elected Managing Director. S15 |
| 2025-07 | About USD 6.5B of AIA and Bank of America shares sold. S7 |
| 2026-09-01 | Decree on government borrowing from the Future Generations Fund reported. S9 |
| 2026-09-15 | Managing Director meets Canadian leaders at the Canada Investment Summit in Toronto. S11 |
For family offices
KIA has no programme open to private capital. Its doors are its overseas offices and the managers and consortia it backs. S4 S2
Reports
- Santiago Principles self-assessment 2022: https://www.kia.gov.kw/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/ISFWF-Santiago-Principles-Self-Assessment-KIA-2022.pdf S4
Common questions
Is KIA the oldest sovereign wealth fund?
Yes. It traces itself to the Kuwait Investment Board, set up in London in February 1953. S2
How much does KIA manage?
KIA does not publish a figure. Press estimates are about USD 1,002B in July 2025 and about USD 1,072B in May 2026. S5 S6
Does KIA publish returns?
No. Law 47 of 1982 restricts public disclosure; results go to the Council of Ministers and the National Assembly. S2
Who runs KIA?
A board chaired by the minister for economic affairs and investment. Sheikh Saoud Salem Abdulaziz Al-Sabah is Managing Director. S11 S1
What are the GRF and FGF?
The General Reserve Fund is the State treasury account that receives oil revenue. The Future Generations Fund is the long-term savings pool, invested abroad. S4
How do I pitch KIA?
There is no intake form. Managers typically go through the London or Shanghai offices or advisers. S4 S2
Related profiles
- Abu Dhabi Investment Authority (ADIA) United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · About USD 1.1T, estimate
- Qatar Investment Authority (QIA) Qatar · About USD 580B, estimate
- Emirates Investment Authority (EIA) United Arab Emirates · About USD 116B, estimate
- Awqaf and Islamic Affairs Fund (Kuwait) Kuwait · KWD 1.47B
- Citizens Fund (Israel) Israel · USD 2.79B
- Bahrain Future Generations Reserve Fund Bahrain · USD 1.11B
All sovereign wealth funds in Middle East · All savings and future generations funds · All funds in Kuwait
Sources
- S1Kuwait Investment Authority, About KIA
- S2Kuwait Investment Authority, About KIA (Arabic)
- S3IFSWF, our members
- S4KIA, Santiago Principles self-assessment 2022
- S5Gulf Times Now, KIA, Microsoft and BlackRock AI partnership, 11 June 2026
- S6Times Kuwait, KIA passes USD 1 trillion, 13 July 2025
- S7Semafor, Kuwait pares financial stock holdings, 9 July 2025
- S8Wikipedia, Kuwait Investment Authority
- S9Enterprise, Kuwait and the Future Generations Fund, 4 September 2026
- S10Kalkine, KIA voting rights in GEA Group, 4 September 2026
- S11Arab Times, KIA and Canada investment links, 17 September 2026
- S12TokenPost, KIA AI infrastructure investment, 13 June 2026
- S13Qatar Daily Times, Kuwait healthcare project ownership shift to KIA, 26 September 2026
- S14Kuwait Investment Authority, Managing Director page (Arabic)
- S15Kuwait Times, Sheikh Saoud elected KIA managing director, 5 August 2025
- S16Reuters, Gulf sovereign wealth funds built for a rainy day, 6 March 2026
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
