Text or WhatsApp (Not an AI Bot):(808) 600-9260Tell me your situation

Fonds Souverain d'Investissements Strategiques

Fonds Souverain d'Investissements Strategiques · Senegal · Africa · Founded 2012 · Strategic development fund · IFSWF full member

Focus

Fonds Souverain d'Investissements Strategiques: what it invests in

Agriculture and food securityRenewables and climateInfrastructure and utilitiesHealthcare and life sciencesTransport and logisticsMining and metals
Private equityInfrastructurePrivate creditStrategic state holdings

Geography Mainly domestic

Scale

Fonds Souverain d'Investissements Strategiques: how big it is, and on what basis

Not disclosed Estimate
Published estimateAs of
Transparency

Fonds Souverain d'Investissements Strategiques: what it publishes

5.5 of 10 Band 3 of 5

Published 4 · Partly 3 · Not published 3

Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.

PE fund programmeS5
FCFA 85B (four funds, 2026)
As of
Dakar BRT stakeS3
30%
As of
OYASS paid-in capitalS3
FCFA 9.3B (June 2023)
As of
Unrealised portfolio gainS3
31.5% (FCFA 8.3B, 2024)
As of
Operating sinceS1
2014
Transparency scoreS6
5.5 of 10

At a glance. FONSIS is Senegal's strategic sovereign fund, set up in 2012 and active since 2014. It invests alongside private partners in projects and funds of funds across agribusiness, water and energy, health and infrastructure, and it manages the intergenerational fund for oil and gas revenue. Its best known stake is 30 percent of the electric Dakar BRT operator. S1 S3

Key points

  • Four macro-sectors: agribusiness, water and energy, health and pharma, and infrastructure and transport. S3
  • Three business lines: funds of funds, project financing and structuring development projects. S4
  • Four private equity funds for Senegalese companies total FCFA 85 billion, with a goal to double in five years. S5
  • Manages the Fonds Intergenerationnel, which gets at least 10 percent of hydrocarbon revenue. S3
  • Every project has private partners; local content clauses cover skills, jobs and local takeover. S5
  • 2024 valuation work showed an unrealised gain of 31.5 percent, FCFA 8.3 billion, on the portfolio reviewed. S3
  • Full IFSWF member with a 2025 Santiago Principles self-assessment. S2 S6

Interesting facts

  • The Dakar BRT runs 121 fully electric buses and carries more than 300,000 people a day. S3
  • OYASS Capital, its largest participation, is run by SEAF, chosen by international tender. S3
  • It is building a national gold counter with Somisen SA. S5

Mandate and goals

FONSIS carries out government economic and social policy as an investor that complements private capital, backing local and foreign direct investment that creates wealth and jobs. Each investment should have positive social, economic and environmental effects. S6 S7

  • Draw private capital into strategic projects. S1
  • Manage State strategic assets for long-term value. S1
  • Grow Senegalese SMEs through funds of funds. S5

How it invests

IndustriesAgriculture and food security, Renewables and climate, Infrastructure and utilities, Healthcare and life sciences, Transport and logistics, Mining and metals, Consumer and retail S3 S5
Asset classesPrivate equity, Infrastructure, Private credit, Strategic state holdings S3
StagesVenture, Growth, Infrastructure, Credit S3
GeographyMainly domestic. All four PE funds target Senegalese companies S5
Direct / through funds / co-investYes / Yes / Yes S3
Ticket sizeNo standard ticket is published. S3
External managersSEAF manages OYASS Capital; partner banks co-run the Fonds Islamique de Relance S3
Co-investment programmeCo-invests with public and private partners in project vehicles and funds S3

Past investments

YearInvestmentTypeSectorStageAmountStake
2022Dakar Mobilite (Dakar BRT). 15-year bus rapid transit concession with Meridiam (70 percent); service began May 2024. S3Joint venture or partnershipTransport and logisticsInfrastructureNot published30%
2023OYASS Capital. SME fund targeting FCFA 50B with the State, KfW and the World Bank; managed by SEAF. S3Fund commitmentMulti-sectorGrowthFCFA 9.3B paid in
2020WE! Fund I. Women entrepreneur fund with UNCDF (33 percent); FCFA 851M invested in four firms. S3Fund commitmentMulti-sectorVentureFCFA 1B pilot
2024WE! Fund II. With the African Development Bank; aims for more than FCFA 6B in 20 firms by 2027. S3Fund commitmentMulti-sectorVentureFCFA 10B target
2024Fonds Islamique de Relance. FCFA 15B debt and FCFA 5B equity windows; FCFA 1.5B lent to 33 firms first. S3Fund commitmentMulti-sectorCreditFCFA 20B
2026Twelve SME agreements. Five WE! Fund and seven Fonds Islamique deals in health, construction, agrifood and textiles. S5Fund commitmentConsumer and retailGrowthFCFA 2.1B
2024Aristide Le Dantec hospital rebuild. 660-bed national hospital; FONSIS acts as owner representative for the Health Ministry. S3Direct investmentHealthcare and life sciencesInfrastructureFCFA 92B project
2024Tivaouane hospital. New hospital project with FONSIS as owner representative. S3Direct investmentHealthcare and life sciencesInfrastructureFCFA 46B project
2024Renewable energy fund (REEF). Structured with PwC; African Climate Foundation grants of USD 250,000 in total. S3New company or platformRenewables and climateInfrastructureEUR 50M target
2026National gold counter. Being developed with Somisen SA. S5Joint venture or partnershipMining and metalsNot statedNot published

Case studies

Dakar BRT S3

  • What: Took 30 percent of Dakar Mobilite, with Meridiam holding 70 percent, under a 15-year concession signed with CETUD in March 2022.
  • When: 2022 to 2024
  • Size: 121 electric buses, 23 stations
  • Why: Show that a sovereign minority stake can bring a global infrastructure investor into urban transport.
  • Outcome: Service started 14 May 2024 across 14 communes, carrying more than 300,000 people a day.

OYASS Capital S3

  • What: Sponsored an SME fund with a FCFA 50B target, backed by the State, KfW and the World Bank and managed by SEAF.
  • When: June 2023
  • Size: FCFA 9.3B paid in
  • Why: Reach small and mid-sized firms beyond Dakar.
  • Outcome: Pipeline of 35 firms in 13 sectors; 30 percent outside Dakar and 33 percent women-led or owned.

WE! Fund S3

  • What: Started a women entrepreneurs fund as a FCFA 1B pilot with UNCDF, then a FCFA 10B second fund with the African Development Bank.
  • When: 2020 onward
  • Size: FCFA 10B target
  • Why: Close the funding gap for women-led businesses.
  • Outcome: Fund I invested FCFA 851M in four firms; Fund II made two investments of FCFA 750M in early 2024.

Investment process

A Board under OHADA company law, with ESG, Investment and Audit and Compliance committees, approves investments. The President appoints the Board, Chairman and Director General by decree; the Director General serves five years, renewable once. S8 S6 S3

CommitteeRole
Investment CommitteeReviews investments S8
ESG CommitteeEnvironmental and social standards S8
Audit and Compliance CommitteeControls and compliance S8
  1. Identify a strategic project or fund with private partners. S4
  2. Structure the deal with local content clauses. S5
  3. Board and committees approve. S8

How to approach: No unsolicited channel is stated; contact pages are on the fund website. SMEs apply through the WE! Fund or Fonds Islamique de Relance. S1

Size and returns

  • Headline size: Not disclosed (Published estimate, as of 2025-11-01) S3
  • Private equity funds managed or sponsored: FCFA 85B (Committed or authorised capital, as of 2026-10-02) S5
  • Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.

Leadership

NameTitleSince
Babacar GningDirector General S32024-05-02
Cheikh Sidiya El Moctar BeyeChairman of the Board S3Not published

Governance and transparency

  • Legal basis: Law 2012-34 of 31 December 2012; OHADA company law S1 S6
  • Oversight: Board of Directors appointed by presidential decree S6
  • Santiago Principles: 2025 self-assessment published by the IFSWF S6
  • Supports the One Planet Sovereign Wealth Funds initiative. S1

Transparency score: 5.5 of 10 (band 3 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.

  • Published: geographic or sector split, holdings or deal list, governance and mandate documents, named leadership. S3 S4 S6 S8 S9
  • Partly published: annual return, asset allocation, regular reporting schedule. S3
  • Not published: total assets, long-term returns, audited financial statements. S6

History

DateEvent
2012-12-31Law 2012-34 creates the fund. S1
2013-07FONSIS S.A. formed. S1
2014Operations begin. S1
2020WE! Fund pilot. S3
2022-03-21Dakar BRT concession signed. S3
2022-04-19Law creates the intergenerational fund. S3
2023-06OYASS Capital paid in. S3
2024-05-02Babacar Gning named Director General. S3
2024-05-14BRT service starts. S3
2026FCFA 85B PE programme presented. S5

For family offices

FONSIS co-invests through project vehicles and funds with development banks and global firms such as Meridiam and SEAF; it does not state that it takes unsolicited proposals. S3

  • Minority stakes in concession companies alongside an operator. S3
  • Anchor stakes in SME funds with outside managers. S3

Reports

Common questions

What is FONSIS?

Senegal's strategic sovereign investment fund, created by Law 2012-34 and operating since 2014. S1

Who runs it?

Babacar Gning, Director General since May 2024. S3

How big is it?

It publishes no fund-level total; its four private equity funds total FCFA 85 billion. S3

Is it an IFSWF member?

Yes, a full member. S2

What does it hold?

Stakes such as 30 percent of the Dakar BRT operator, plus funds such as OYASS Capital and WE! Fund. S3

All sovereign wealth funds in Africa · All strategic development funds · All funds in Senegal

Sources

  1. S1FONSIS, home page
  2. S2IFSWF, FONSIS member page
  3. S3FONSIS, Management Report 2024 (French)
  4. S4FONSIS, Investment policy
  5. S5Financesao, FONSIS deploys four funds for FCFA 85 billion (French)
  6. S6IFSWF, FONSIS Santiago Principles self-assessment 2025
  7. S7FONSIS, Our portfolio
  8. S8FONSIS, Governance
  9. S9FONSIS, Team

Disclaimer

Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.

Richard C. Wilson

Talk to a human.

I'm Richard C. Wilson, founder of Family Office Club. I read the messages that come in through this site myself. Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@SovereignWealthFunds.com. Thank you.

Tell me your situation