XRG, ADNOC international investment company (Abu Dhabi)
Abu Dhabi: what it invests in
Geography Global
Abu Dhabi: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 150.0B. Enterprise value stated by the company; not assets under management
Abu Dhabi: what it publishes
Published 1 · Partly 6 · Not published 3
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. XRG is ADNOC's international investment company, launched in November 2024 to build global gas, chemicals and energy solutions platforms. It reports an enterprise value above USD 150 billion. In its first 18 months it took control of Covestro, formed Borouge Group International with OMV, and bought stakes in LNG and gas projects in the US, Mozambique, Egypt, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan. S5 S3 S6 S7
Key points
- Enterprise value above USD 150 billion, up from over USD 80 billion at launch; this is not AUM. S5 S1
- Three platforms: International Gas, Global Chemicals and Energy Solutions. S5
- Closed the EUR 14.7 billion Covestro takeover in December 2025; the ADNOC group holds 95.1 percent. S8 S3
- Holds 50 percent of Borouge Group International, a polyolefins producer with 13.6 million tonnes a year of capacity, formed in March 2026. S6
- Gas stakes include 11.7 percent of Rio Grande LNG Phase 1, 10 percent of Rovuma Area 4, 30 percent of Absheron and 49 percent of Arcius Energy. S9 S10 S11 S12
- Targets a 20 to 25 million tonne a year gas and LNG portfolio by 2035. S10
- Aims to more than double asset value within a decade. S1
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
XRG invests abroad to capture three trends: energy transformation, AI-driven power demand and the growth of emerging economies. It pairs private equity style value creation with the operating depth of a major energy supplier. S1 S5
How it invests
| Industries | Energy: oil and gas, Industrials and manufacturing, Renewables and climate, Infrastructure and utilities S5 S9 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Private equity, Infrastructure S3 S6 |
| Stages | Buyout, Infrastructure, Growth S3 S9 |
| Geography | Global. International only; offices in Washington DC, Baku, Maputo and Ashgabat S9 S7 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / No / Yes S3 S12 |
| Ticket size | No ticket range is published. S8 |
| Deal sizes seen | From project stakes to the EUR 14.7B Covestro takeover |
| External managers | No external managers S5 |
| Co-investment programme | Deal-level partnerships with bp, OMV, TotalEnergies, SOCAR and others S12 |
Largest holdings: Covestro EUR 14.7B takeover (95.1%), Borouge Group International USD 60B enterprise value (50%) (dates from 2025-12-17 to 2026-03-31) S6 S8
Published criteria
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Covestro. Takeover closed 10 December 2025 with a EUR 1.17 billion capital increase; group stake 95.1 percent. S3 S8 | Direct investment | Industrials and manufacturing | Buyout | EUR 14.7B | 95.1% |
| 2026 | Borouge Group International. Borouge and Borealis combined with NOVA Chemicals; equal partnership with OMV. S6 S8 | Joint venture or partnership | Industrials and manufacturing | Buyout | USD 60B EV | 50% |
| 2025 | Rio Grande LNG Phase 1. First US gas investment, closed September 2025. S9 S8 | Direct investment | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | Not disclosed | 11.7% |
| Not published | ExxonMobil Baytown hydrogen and ammonia. Low-carbon hydrogen and ammonia project in Texas. S9 | Joint venture or partnership | Renewables and climate | Infrastructure | Not disclosed | 35% |
| 2025 | Rovuma Basin Area 4. Bought from Galp; covers Coral South FLNG, Coral North FLNG and Rovuma LNG. S10 | Direct investment | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | Not disclosed | 10% |
| Not published | Absheron gas and condensate field. Partners took FID on full field development in September 2026. S11 S7 | Direct investment | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | Not disclosed | 30% |
| 2026 | Southern Gas Corridor CJSC. Equity stake bought from the Azerbaijan Ministry of Economy, closed September 2026. S7 | Direct investment | Infrastructure and utilities | Infrastructure | Not disclosed | |
| Not published | Turkmenistan offshore Block I. Producing gas and condensate concession with over 7 tcf of resources. S7 | Direct investment | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | Not disclosed | |
| 2024 | Arcius Energy. Gas platform with bp holding Zohr (Shorouk) and Atoll (North Damietta) interests. S12 | Joint venture or partnership | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | Not disclosed | 49% |
Case studies
Covestro takeover S3 S8
- What: Acquired control of the German materials group through a public offer and a capital increase.
- When: 2024 to 2025
- Size: EUR 14.7B
- Why: Anchor the Global Chemicals platform with a leader in performance materials.
- Outcome: Closed December 2025; ADNOC group holds 95.1 percent and Covestro keeps its Leverkusen base.
Borouge Group International S6
- What: Combined Borouge and Borealis and added NOVA Chemicals in an equal venture with OMV.
- When: 2025 to 2026
- Size: USD 60B EV
- Why: Build a global polyolefins leader with Gulf feedstock and European technology.
- Outcome: Formed 31 March 2026 with 13.6 million tonnes a year of capacity.
A Caspian gas position S11 S7
- What: Built stakes in Absheron, Turkmenistan Block I and the Southern Gas Corridor.
- When: 2025 to 2026
- Size: Not published
- Why: Link Caspian gas to export routes into Turkey and Europe.
- Outcome: Absheron full field FID taken in September 2026.
Investment process
The XRG board, chaired by Executive Chairman and CEO Sultan Al Jaber, reviews strategy and the five-year business plan. Deals are run by platform teams. S9 S4
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Directors | Abu Dhabi officials and international business leaders S4 |
- Platform teams source gas, chemicals and energy solutions deals. S5
- Board reviews progress against the five-year plan. S9
- Deals close through offers, joint ventures or stake purchases. S3 S12
- Local offices support assets in key markets. S9
How to approach: Contact routes are on the company site; no programme for outside investors is described. S5
Size and returns
Leadership
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Public joint stock company wholly owned by ADNOC S3
- Oversight: XRG board; ADNOC as shareholder S4 S1
- Al Jaber added the CEO role in November 2025. S13
- No annual report published yet. S5
Transparency score: 4.0 of 10 (band 2 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2024-11-27 | ADNOC launches XRG. S1 |
| 2024-12-16 | Arcius Energy formed with bp. S12 |
| 2025 | Rovuma Area 4 stake completed. S10 |
| 2025-09-18 | Santos consortium proposal withdrawn. S14 |
| 2025-09 | Rio Grande LNG stake closed; board meets in New York. S9 |
| 2025-11-04 | Al Jaber adds CEO role. S13 |
| 2025-12-10 | Covestro takeover closes. S3 |
| 2026-03-31 | Borouge Group International formed. S6 |
| 2026-09-15 | Southern Gas Corridor stake closes. S7 |
| 2026-09-26 | Absheron full field FID. S11 |
For family offices
XRG partners with energy majors, national oil companies and large investors at deal level. It does not run a programme for family offices. S12 S5
Common questions
What is XRG?
ADNOC's international energy and chemicals investment company, launched in November 2024. S1
How large is XRG?
The company states an enterprise value above USD 150 billion; this is not AUM. S5
What is its biggest deal?
The EUR 14.7 billion Covestro takeover, closed in December 2025. S8
Who runs it?
Sultan Al Jaber, Executive Chairman and CEO. S13
Related profiles
- Public Investment Fund (PIF) Saudi Arabia · SAR 3,396B
- Mubadala Investment Company United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · AED 1,414B
- National Development Fund of Iran (NDFI) Iran · About USD 195B (stated, unaudited)
- National Development Fund (NDF) Saudi Arabia · About SAR 430B
- Oman Investment Authority (OIA) Oman · OMR 22.922B
- MGX United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · USD 49B
All sovereign wealth funds in Middle East · All strategic development funds · All funds in United Arab Emirates
Sources
- S1XRG, ADNOC launches XRG, 27 November 2024
- S2IFSWF, Our members
- S3Covestro, Covestro and XRG commence strategic partnership
- S4XRG, Our leadership
- S5XRG, Home
- S6OMV and XRG, Borouge Group International formed, 31 March 2026
- S7WAM, XRG completes acquisition of equity stake in Southern Gas Corridor, 15 September 2026
- S8The National, ADNOC secures 95% stake in Covestro, 17 December 2025
- S9XRG, Board meets in New York, 29 September 2025
- S10Ghana Upstream, XRG targets 20 to 25 MMtpa gas portfolio by 2035
- S11TotalEnergies, FID for Absheron Full Field Development, 26 September 2026
- S12XRG, XRG and bp close deal to launch Arcius Energy
- S13The Circuit, XRG chairman Sultan Al Jaber takes on additional role as CEO
- S14Santos, XRG consortium withdraws indicative proposal
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
