Oman Investment Authority (OIA)
OIA: what it invests in
Geography Domestic and global
OIA: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 59.6B. Converted at the fixed rate of USD 2.6008 per Omani rial.
Return 2025 14.6%
OIA: what it publishes
Published 5 · Partly 5 · Not published 0
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. The Oman Investment Authority is Oman's sovereign wealth fund, formed in 2020 from the State General Reserve Fund, the Oman Investment Fund and the state's company holdings. Total assets were OMR 22.922 billion at end 2025, about USD 59.6 billion at the peg. About 61 percent is in Oman through more than 160 companies; the Future Generations Fund invests abroad and Future Fund Oman co-finances local projects. S6 S1
Key points
- Return on investment was 14.6 percent in 2025 on a record profit of about OMR 2.9 billion; the five-year average is 10.4 percent. S4
- Three portfolios: National Development Fund OMR 13.09 billion, Future Generations Fund OMR 8.57 billion and Future Fund Oman with OMR 2 billion of capital. S4 S6
- Paid OMR 800 million to the state budget in 2025, half of it routed to Future Fund Oman; over OMR 8 billion since 2016. S6
- Completed 24 divestments since 2022 for more than OMR 2.8 billion, including six in 2025 against a target of five. S4
- Invested in 52 countries: Oman 61 percent, North America 19, Europe 9, Asia Pacific 4 and the rest 7. S6 S4
- Future Fund Oman co-finances local projects of OMR 5 million to 100 million for up to 40 percent, and SMEs for up to 49 percent. S6
Interesting facts
- Its first India fund with the State Bank of India (USD 100 million, 2011) returned 8.1 percent a year in rupees by full exit in 2024. S7
- The President has called profitability a red line: OIA will not fund unviable projects, even for the government. S8
- OIA has 438 staff, 91 percent Omani; its companies employ over 41,000. S6
Mandate and goals
Under Royal Decree 57/2021, OIA invests the state's money and assets for the best returns, builds reserves, supports the budget, and backs government sector policies and investment into Oman. S3
- Manage, develop and invest the state's money and assets for the highest returns. S3
- Build financial reserves for future generations. S3
- Provide revenue to the general budget and support fiscal sustainability. S3
- Help carry out government policy in target sectors of the economy. S3
- Improve the investment climate and attract investment into Oman. S3
- Return target: Future Generations Fund: 5 percent a year over five years; it averaged 5.8 percent to 2024. S7
How it invests
| Industries | Energy: oil and gas, Renewables and climate, Transport and logistics, Mining and metals, Agriculture and food security, Technology, Tourism and hospitality, Industrials and manufacturing S7 S6 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Public equities, Fixed income, Private equity, Venture capital, Real estate S6 |
| Stages | Venture, Growth, Buyout, Public markets, Real estate, Infrastructure S6 |
| Geography | Domestic and global. 52 countries; the President puts the split at about 60 percent in Oman and 40 percent abroad S6 S4 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / Yes S6 S3 |
| Ticket size | Future Fund Oman: OMR 5M to 100M per local project for up to 40 percent; SMEs and start-ups OMR 4,000 to 5M for up to 49 percent S6 |
| Deal sizes seen | About USD 50M (Oman-India Fund III, 2025) to USD 500M (OYAK joint company, 2025) |
| External managers | Uses external managers in public markets and invests in private funds; 17 new funds added in 2025 S6 |
| Co-investment programme | Seven state-to-state joint companies and funds, plus Future Fund Oman co-finance for local projects S6 |
Largest country weights: Oman 61%, North America 19%, Europe 9%, Asia and Pacific Rim 4% S6
Published criteria
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Templewater Innovation Fund. The fund puts half its capital into Oman, in advanced manufacturing, new energy, AI and health. S10 S11 | Fund commitment | Technology | Venture | 25 percent of fund capital | |
| 2025 | Oman-India Joint Investment Fund III. First close of a USD 300M target fund; State Bank of India put in USD 12.4M. S6 | Fund commitment | Multi-sector | Growth | USD 50M | |
| 2025 | OYAK Turkoman Investment. Joint company with OYAK; first deal set to take minority stakes in mining and industrial affiliates. S12 S6 | Joint venture or partnership | Industrials and manufacturing | Not stated | USD 500M (USD 250M each) | |
| 2025 | Uzbek-Oman Investment Company. Raised the company's capital to USD 266.7M; it bought four assets for USD 63M. S6 | Joint venture or partnership | Multi-sector | Not stated | USD 50M | |
| 2025 | Oman Healthcare Fund. Approved in September 2025 with Oman Brunei Investment Company. S6 | New company or platform | Healthcare and life sciences | Not stated | OMR 50M | |
| 2025 | Asyad Shipping. IPO of 20 percent on the Muscat exchange. S4 | Sale or exit | Transport and logistics | Public markets | Not published | 20% |
| 2025 | Sohar Sulphur Fertiliser. Sale of 69 percent. S4 | Sale or exit | Agriculture and food security | Not stated | Not published | 69% |
| 2025 | Omani Towers Company. Full exit of a 10 percent stake. S4 | Sale or exit | Telecoms and media | Infrastructure | Not published | 10% |
| 2024 | OQ Exploration and Production. IPO of 25 percent in October 2024. S13 | Sale or exit | Energy: oil and gas | Public markets | Not published | 25% |
| 2024 | xAI. Stake held by the Future Generations Fund. S13 | Direct investment | Technology | Growth | Not published |
Case studies
Divesting to recycle capital S4 S6 S13
- What: A five-year programme sells stakes in state companies through IPOs and strategic sales, from OQ Exploration and Production to Asyad Shipping.
- When: 2022 to 2025
- Size: Over OMR 2.8B from 24 divestments
- Why: To deepen the local market, cut state debt and guarantees, and fund new investment.
- Outcome: Guarantees fell from OMR 3.4B at end 2022 to OMR 1.8B by 2024.
Future Fund Oman: co-financing local projects S6
- What: A OMR 2B vehicle funds Omani projects at up to 40 percent and SMEs at up to 49 percent, alongside private and foreign investors.
- When: Launched January 2024
- Size: OMR 2B over five years
- Why: To grow the private sector and pull foreign capital into Oman.
- Outcome: In 2025 it approved 147 projects with OMR 316.1M and earned 5.9 percent.
Investment process
A board appointed by royal order for renewable four-year terms, chaired by the Minister of Finance, sets strategy, governance and budget. Executive management under the President carries out investments. External allocation caps need board approval to change. S3 S6
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Directors | Strategy, governance, budget and policy S3 |
| Audit and Risk Committee | Oversees internal audit and risk S3 |
- Local projects apply to Future Fund Oman, which received 668 requests and approved 147 in 2025. S6
- Management approves within board limits; the board sets caps and strategy. S3
- Mature holdings are sold through IPOs or strategic sales under the five-year divestment plan. S7
How to approach: Omani projects and SMEs apply to Future Fund Oman. Other contact goes through the OIA website and government entity page; OIA states it does not offer services to individuals. S6 S5
Size and returns
- Headline size: OMR 22.922B (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2025-12-31) S6
- In US dollars: about USD 59.6B. Converted at the fixed rate of USD 2.6008 per Omani rial.
- National Development Fund: OMR 13.09B (Portfolio value, as of 2026-05-19) S4
- Future Generations Fund: OMR 8.57B (Portfolio value, as of 2026-05-19) S4
- Future Fund Oman capital: OMR 2B (Committed or authorised capital, as of 2025-12-31) S6
- Return, 2025: 14.6 percent (return on investment; 8.8 percent in 2022) S4
- Return, 5 years to 2025: 10.4 percent a year S4
- Return, Future Generations Fund, 5 years to 2024: 5.8 percent a year (Future Generations Fund only; target 5 percent) S7
- Staff: 438 at the Authority, 91 percent Omani; more than 41,000 across subsidiaries S6
- Size over time (OMR billion): 2022 17.897, 2023 19.24, 2024 20.425, 2025 22.922 S6 S7 S9
Leadership
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Royal Decree 61/2020 and the System of the Authority, Royal Decree 57/2021 S1 S3
- Oversight: Council of Ministers; board appointed by royal order S1 S3
- Auditor: A Big Four firm audits IFRS statements; rotated at least every four years S3
- Santiago Principles: IFSWF full member; 2025 self-assessment covers all 24 principles S3 S2
- Performance measured to GIPS standards; ISO 31000 risk certification renewed in 2025. S3
Transparency score: 7.5 of 10 (band 4 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
For family offices
OIA has no programme for family offices, but Future Fund Oman co-finances local projects with private and foreign investors, and OIA sells stakes through IPOs and strategic sales. S6 S4
Reports
- Annual Report 2025: https://www.oia.gov.om/uploads/OIA_Annual_Report_EN_Final_0de92e2bf6.pdf S6
- Annual Report 2024: https://www.oia.gov.om/uploads/OIA_Annual_report_English_2024_e000139fb0.pdf S7
Common questions
How big is the Oman Investment Authority?
OMR 22.922 billion of total assets at end 2025, about USD 59.6 billion. S6
Who leads OIA?
President Abdulsalam bin Mohammed Al Murshidi. Minister of Finance Sultan bin Salem Al Habsi chairs the board. S6
What return did OIA make in 2025?
14.6 percent, on a profit of about OMR 2.9 billion. The five-year average is 10.4 percent. S4
How can a project get OIA money?
Omani projects of OMR 5 million to 100 million can apply to Future Fund Oman for up to 40 percent; SMEs can get up to 49 percent. S6
Is OIA an IFSWF member?
Yes, a full member. S2
Related profiles
- Public Investment Fund (PIF) Saudi Arabia · SAR 3,396B
- Mubadala Investment Company United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · AED 1,414B
- National Development Fund of Iran (NDFI) Iran · About USD 195B (stated, unaudited)
- XRG, ADNOC international investment company (Abu Dhabi) United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · USD 150B+, estimate
- National Development Fund (NDF) Saudi Arabia · About SAR 430B
- MGX United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · USD 49B
All sovereign wealth funds in Middle East · All strategic development funds · All funds in Oman
Sources
- S1Royal Decree 61/2020 establishing the Oman Investment Authority
- S2IFSWF, members list
- S3IFSWF, OIA Santiago Principles self-assessment 2025
- S4Ministry of Finance of Oman, statement on OIA 2025 results, 19 May 2026
- S5Oman government portal, Oman Investment Authority entity page
- S6OIA, Annual Report 2025
- S7OIA, Annual Report 2024
- S8Atheer, OIA President at the Together Forward forum, 8 February 2026 (Arabic)
- S9OIA, Annual Report 2022
- S10Muscat Daily, OIA expands global tech footprint, 13 September 2026
- S11Oman Observer, OIA and Templewater agreement
- S12OYAK, four agreements signed with the Oman Investment Authority (Turkish)
- S13Oman Observer, OIA assets grew in 2024, 22 June 2025
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
