EDGE Group
EDGE Group: what it invests in
Geography Domestic and global
EDGE Group: how big it is, and on what basis
EDGE Group: what it publishes
Published 2 · Partly 3 · Not published 5
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. EDGE is Abu Dhabi's state-owned defence and advanced technology group, launched in November 2019 from several state defence companies. It runs more than 35 entities in six clusters, from missiles and drones to cyber and space, and buys or partners with foreign firms to add capability. It is an operating group and publishes no fund size. S1 S2 S4
Key points
- More than 35 entities in six clusters, including missiles and weapons, platforms, space and cyber, and homeland security. S1
- Agreed in 2026 to buy 100 percent of AKAER in Brazil and 80 percent of CMD in Italy. S5 S4
- Took majority control of Milrem Robotics in Estonia and ANAVIA in Switzerland in 2023. S2
- Runs joint ventures with Leonardo, Fincantieri and Indra in the UAE. S6 S2
- Orders passed USD 5 billion in 2022, about a third of them exports. S2
- Paid for the CMD deal from its own resources. S4
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
EDGE aims to bring new technologies to market faster, build sovereign defence capability for national security and export, and make the UAE a hub for future industries. S1
How it invests
| Industries | Industrials and manufacturing, Technology, Transport and logistics S1 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Private equity S1 |
| Stages | Buyout, Growth S2 |
| Geography | Domestic and global. UAE base with acquisitions in Latin America and Europe S2 S5 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / No / Yes S2 |
| Ticket size | Deal prices are generally not disclosed. S4 |
| Deal sizes seen | Stakes of 50 to 100 percent |
| External managers | No external managers; acquisitions are made by the group. S1 |
| Co-investment programme | Joint ventures with industrial partners rather than financial co-investors S2 |
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | AKAER. Aerospace engineering firm founded 1992 in Sao Jose dos Campos; subject to approvals. S5 | Direct investment | Industrials and manufacturing | Buyout | Not disclosed | 100% |
| 2026 | Costruzioni Motori Diesel (CMD). Propulsion maker; existing owners keep a significant minority; closing expected by end 2026. S4 | Direct investment | Industrials and manufacturing | Buyout | Not disclosed | 80% |
| 2025 | Leonardo joint venture. Milestone reached toward a joint venture in the UAE. S6 | Joint venture or partnership | Industrials and manufacturing | Growth | Not published | |
| 2025 | Edge-Anduril Production Alliance. Alliance with Anduril focused on autonomous systems. S2 | Joint venture or partnership | Technology | Growth | Not published | |
| 2024 | Fada. Space company launched by the group. S2 | New company or platform | Technology | Venture | Not published | |
| 2024 | MAESTRAL. Abu Dhabi shipbuilding joint venture with Fincantieri. S2 | Joint venture or partnership | Industrials and manufacturing | Growth | Not published | |
| 2024 | Radar joint venture with Indra. Develops and builds radar systems in the UAE. S2 | Joint venture or partnership | Technology | Growth | Not published | |
| 2024 | Condor Non-Lethal Technologies. Majority stake in a Brazilian security products maker. S2 | Direct investment | Industrials and manufacturing | Buyout | Not published | 51% |
| 2024 | International Golden Group. Majority stake acquired in January 2024. S2 | Direct investment | Industrials and manufacturing | Buyout | Not published | |
| 2023 | Strategic Development Fund. Took full ownership of the Abu Dhabi investment company. S2 | Direct investment | Financial services | Buyout | Not published | 100% |
| 2023 | ANAVIA. Unmanned helicopter maker. S2 | Direct investment | Industrials and manufacturing | Buyout | Not published | 52% |
| 2023 | FLARIS. Small jet aircraft maker. S2 | Direct investment | Industrials and manufacturing | Growth | Not published | 50% |
| 2023 | SIATT. Smart weapons specialist. S2 | Direct investment | Industrials and manufacturing | Growth | Not published | 50% |
| 2023 | Etimad Holding and OryxLabs. Technology services group (100 percent) and cybersecurity firm. S2 | Direct investment | Technology | Buyout | Not published | |
| 2023 | Milrem Robotics. Majority stake in an unmanned ground vehicle developer. S2 | Direct investment | Technology | Buyout | Not published |
Case studies
Milrem Robotics: buying European autonomy know-how S2
- What: Took a majority stake in the Estonian unmanned ground vehicle developer.
- When: February 2023
- Size: Not disclosed
- Why: To add robotic and autonomous land systems to its portfolio, one of its stated growth areas.
Brazil: a second home market S2 S5
- What: Opened a Brasilia office, bought 50 percent of SIATT and 51 percent of Condor, then agreed to buy all of AKAER.
- When: 2023 to 2026
- Size: Not disclosed
- Why: To co-develop missiles with the Brazilian Navy and gain aerospace engineering capacity.
- Outcome: AKAER deal subject to conditions and approvals.
CMD: propulsion in Italy S4
- What: Agreed to buy 80 percent of Costruzioni Motori Diesel, funded from own resources.
- When: May 2026
- Size: Not disclosed
- Why: To secure engine and propulsion capability while the founding owners stay invested.
- Outcome: Closing expected by end 2026.
Investment process
A board chaired by Faisal Al Bannai oversees the group; the Managing Director and CEO and cluster presidents lead acquisitions and partnerships. S1 S5
How to approach: No investor programme is published; companies and partners can use the contact page on the EDGE website. S7
Size and returns
- Headline size: Not disclosed (Published estimate) S1
- Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.
Leadership
| Name | Title |
|---|---|
| Faisal Al Bannai | Chairman of the Board S1 |
| Hamad Al Marar | Managing Director and CEO S5 |
| Dr Chaouki Kasmi | Group Chief Technology Officer S1 |
| Khaled Ahmed Al Zaabi | President, Platforms and Systems S1 |
| Saif Ali Al Dahbashi | President, Missiles and Weapons S1 |
| Waleid Al Mesmari | President, Advanced Sensing S1 |
| Omar Al Zaabi | President, Commercial S1 |
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Public joint stock company owned by the Government of Abu Dhabi S4
- Oversight: Board of directors chaired by Faisal Al Bannai S1
- Publishes a code of conduct; no financial statements are published. S1
Transparency score: 3.5 of 10 (band 2 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2019-11-05 | EDGE launched from state defence companies. S2 |
| 2022-01-31 | Board and management changes; DIGITAL14 later merged in as KATIM. S2 |
| 2023-02-15 | Majority stake in Milrem Robotics. S2 |
| 2023-12 | Full ownership of the Strategic Development Fund. S2 |
| 2024-05 | MAESTRAL shipbuilding venture with Fincantieri. S2 |
| 2024-09 | Space company Fada launched. S2 |
| 2025-11-19 | Leonardo joint venture milestone. S6 |
| 2026-05-14 | CMD agreement. S4 |
| 2026-07-16 | AKAER agreement. S5 |
For family offices
EDGE buys companies outright or in majority stakes and partners with industrial groups; it has no programme for financial co-investors. S2
Common questions
When was EDGE launched?
Who runs EDGE?
Faisal Al Bannai chairs the board; Hamad Al Marar is Managing Director and CEO. S1 S5
Who owns EDGE?
The Government of Abu Dhabi. S4
Is it an investment fund?
No. It is a state-owned operating group that also acquires companies. S1
Is it an IFSWF member?
No. S3
Related profiles
- Investment Corporation of Dubai (ICD) United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · AED 1,680B
- ADQ and L'IMAD Holding United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · AED 996.8B
- Dubai Holding United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · AED 500B
- Dubai Investment Fund United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · About USD 80B, estimate
- Mumtalakat Holding Company Bahrain · BHD 7.22B
- Wafra Kuwait · KD 119.0M
All sovereign wealth funds in Middle East · All state holding companys · All funds in United Arab Emirates
Sources
- S1EDGE Group, About
- S2Wikipedia, Edge Group (revision of 12 August 2026)
- S3IFSWF, members list
- S4Global Banking and Finance Review, EDGE to acquire 80 percent of CMD
- S5WAM, EDGE to acquire 100 percent stake in Brazilian aerospace firm
- S6Leonardo, EDGE Group and Leonardo joint venture milestone
- S7EDGE Group, home page
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
