Dubai Holding
Dubai Holding: what it invests in
Geography Domestic and global
Dubai Holding: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 136.2B. Converted at the AED 3.6725 peg.
Dubai Holding: what it publishes
Published 2 · Partly 5 · Not published 3
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. Dubai Holding is the Dubai Government-directed holding company behind many of the emirate's best-known communities, hotels and attractions. It manages assets of AED 500 billion (about USD 136 billion) across 10 sectors and more than 30 countries, and owns Jumeirah, Nakheel, Meraas and Meydan. It is also Emaar Properties' largest shareholder and the second largest in Emirates NBD. S7 S4 S8
Key points
- Its core businesses contributed 13.5 percent of Dubai's GDP in 2025, according to its first Impact Report. S7 S9
- Raised its Emaar Properties stake to 29.73 percent in 2026 by buying 22.27 percent from the Investment Corporation of Dubai. S8
- Ten sectors: real estate, hospitality, leisure and entertainment, retail, media, education, design, technology, science and manufacturing. S10
- Core businesses generate more than AED 77 billion of annual value; group infrastructure spending was AED 12 billion in 2024. S7
- Listed TECOM Group and Empower on the Dubai Financial Market in 2022 and Dubai Residential REIT in May 2025; exited Empower in February 2026. S4
- Its residential communities house two in five Dubai residents and 85 percent of international tourists visit one of its destinations, by its own measures. S7
Interesting facts
- It was set up to manage the projects of Dubai's first big build-out, including Dubai Internet City, Dubai Media City and Jumeirah Beach Residence. S1
- It launched du, the UAE's second telecom operator, in 2005, and SmartCity parks in Kochi and Malta in 2007. S5
- Nakheel, the developer of the Palm islands, joined the group in 2024 on the Ruler's direction. S3
Mandate and goals
Dubai Holding aims to raise Dubai's competitiveness by building communities, growing sustainable industries and making the city a hub for talent and new ideas. Its investment arm seeks global capital that adds long-term value for Dubai. S7
- Build and run communities, destinations and businesses that strengthen Dubai's economy. S7
- Unlock value from its strategic land bank with leading partners, in line with the Dubai 2040 Urban Master Plan and the D33 Agenda. S11
- Attract global capital and partners that deliver long-term value for Dubai. S7
- Develop UAE national talent through group-wide programmes. S12
How it invests
| Industries | Real estate, Tourism and hospitality, Sports, entertainment and gaming, Consumer and retail, Telecoms and media, Technology, Financial services, Education S10 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Real estate, Public equities, Private equity S4 |
| Stages | Real estate, Buyout, Public markets, Infrastructure S4 |
| Geography | Domestic and global. Dubai is the core market; Jumeirah runs flagship hotels in France, Switzerland, Italy and the Maldives S7 S4 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / No / Yes S4 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size is published. S8 |
| Deal sizes seen | Joint ventures and stakes from AED 1B construction awards to the AED 38B Aldar venture (2025) |
| External managers | Runs its own asset management arm, Dubai Holding Asset Management; external manager use is not published S6 |
| Co-investment programme | Works with named partners on joint ventures and stakes S4 S11 |
Largest holdings: Emaar Properties (29.73%), Emirates NBD, TECOM Group, Dubai Residential REIT, Jumeirah (100%) S4 S6 S8
Published criteria
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Emaar Properties. Bought 22.27 percent from ICD, taking its stake to 29.73 percent and becoming largest shareholder. S8 | Direct investment | Real estate | Public markets | Not published | 29.73% |
| 2026 | Empower. Exited its stake in the listed district cooling company. S4 | Sale or exit | Infrastructure and utilities | Public markets | Not published | |
| 2025 | Aldar joint venture expansion. Two new plots for about 14,000 homes, at Nad Al Sheba and Palm Jebel Ali; Aldar develops and sells. S11 | Joint venture or partnership | Real estate | Real estate | AED 38B gross development value | |
| 2025 | Dubai Residential REIT. Residential portfolio set up as a REIT and listed on the Dubai Financial Market. S4 | New company or platform | Real estate | Real estate | Not published | |
| 2025 | Nord Anglia Education. Part of the EQT-led consortium that acquired the schools group. S12 | Co-investment | Education | Buyout | Not published | |
| 2024 | Nakheel and Meydan. Incorporated into the group on the Ruler's direction. S3 | State asset transfer | Real estate | Not stated | Not published | |
| 2023 | Aldar joint venture. First phase of communities including Haven, Athlon and The Wilds. S11 | Joint venture or partnership | Real estate | Real estate | Not published | |
| 2022 | TECOM Group. Partial sale through a listing on the Dubai Financial Market. S4 | Sale or exit | Real estate | Public markets | Not published | |
| 2021 | DXB Entertainments. Taken private and integrated into the group. S4 | State asset transfer | Sports, entertainment and gaming | Buyout | Not published | |
| 2020 | Meraas. Developer integrated into the group. S4 | State asset transfer | Real estate | Not stated | Not published | |
| 2005 | du (Emirates Integrated Telecommunications). Launched the UAE's second telecom operator. S5 | New company or platform | Telecoms and media | Not stated | Not published |
Case studies
Aldar venture: monetising the land bank S11
- What: Dubai Holding supplies land and Aldar runs design, sales, delivery and management.
- When: 2023 to 2025
- Size: AED 38B gross development value in the expansion
- Why: To turn strategic land into communities without building everything in house.
- Outcome: Earlier phases sold quickly; the expansion adds about 14,000 homes.
Becoming Emaar's largest shareholder S8
- What: Bought a 22.27 percent block of Emaar Properties from fellow Dubai investor ICD.
- When: 2026
- Size: Not published
- Why: Consolidates Dubai's main listed developer under the group that already partners with it on joint ventures.
- Outcome: Stake of 29.73 percent.
Listing to recycle capital S4
- What: Listed TECOM Group and Empower in 2022 and Dubai Residential REIT in 2025, then exited Empower.
- When: 2022 to 2026
- Size: Not published
- Why: Brings outside investors into mature assets and frees capital for new projects.
Investment process
Strategy is set under the Chairman, appointed by the Ruler of Dubai, and run by the Group CEO with a group investment office. Big structural moves, such as adding Nakheel and Meydan, come by direction of the Ruler. S6 S3
- Dubai Holding Investments, led by the Group Chief Investment Officer, handles stakes and partnerships. S6
- Land is often developed through joint ventures in which the partner runs the full development cycle. S11
- Mature assets may be listed on the Dubai Financial Market or sold. S4
How to approach: No open intake for investment proposals is published; general contact details are on the company website. S10
Size and returns
Leadership
| Name | Title | Since |
|---|---|---|
| HH Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum | Chairman S6 | Not published |
| Amit Kaushal | Group Chief Executive Officer S4 | 2018-02 |
| Omar Karim | Group Chief Investment Officer and CEO, Dubai Holding Investments S6 | Not published |
| Sharjil Anwar | Group Chief Financial Officer S6 | Not published |
| Khalid Al Malik | CEO, Dubai Holding Real Estate S6 | Not published |
| Malek Al Malek | Group CEO, Dubai Holding Asset Management S6 | Not published |
| Thomas B. Meier | CEO, Jumeirah S6 | Not published |
| Fernando Eiroa | CEO, Dubai Holding Entertainment S6 | Not published |
Governance and transparency
- Oversight: Chairman appointed by the Ruler of Dubai; group officers named for investment, finance, legal, audit, people and technology S6 S5
- Listed group companies such as TECOM Group and Dubai Residential REIT follow Dubai Financial Market disclosure rules. S4
- The 2026 Impact Report, built with Kearney, measures economic contribution rather than financial results. S7
Transparency score: 4.5 of 10 (band 3 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2004-10-09 | Dubai Holding launched. S1 |
| 2005 | du launched. S5 |
| 2008 | Jumeirah Beach Residence officially opened. S5 |
| 2018-02 | Amit Kaushal becomes Group CEO. S4 |
| 2020 | Meraas integrated. S4 |
| 2022 | TECOM Group and Empower listed. S4 |
| 2024-03-16 | Nakheel and Meydan incorporated into the group. S3 |
| 2025-05 | Dubai Residential REIT listed. S4 |
| 2026-02 | Empower exit. S4 |
| 2026 | Emaar stake raised to 29.73 percent. S8 |
For family offices
Dubai Holding has no programme for family offices. Outside investors can reach its assets through its listed companies and REIT, or as joint venture partners on land, schools and infrastructure. S4 S11
Reports
- Impact Report 2026: https://www.dubaiholding.com/en/impact-report S7
Common questions
How big is Dubai Holding?
It manages AED 500 billion of assets, about USD 136 billion at the dirham peg, across 10 sectors and more than 30 countries. S7
Who runs Dubai Holding?
Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum is Chairman and Amit Kaushal is Group CEO. Omar Karim is Group Chief Investment Officer. S6
Does Dubai Holding own Emaar?
It is Emaar Properties' largest shareholder with 29.73 percent after buying 22.27 percent from ICD in 2026. S8
Is it the same as Dubai Investments PJSC?
No. Dubai Investments is a separate listed company. S6
Is Dubai Holding an IFSWF member?
No, it is not on the IFSWF members list. S2
Related profiles
- Investment Corporation of Dubai (ICD) United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · AED 1,680B
- ADQ and L'IMAD Holding United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · AED 996.8B
- Dubai Investment Fund United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · About USD 80B, estimate
- Mumtalakat Holding Company Bahrain · BHD 7.22B
- Wafra Kuwait · KD 119.0M
- Dubai World United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · Not disclosed
All sovereign wealth funds in Middle East · All state holding companys · All funds in United Arab Emirates
Sources
- S1Dubai Holding, launch press release, 9 October 2004
- S2IFSWF, Our members
- S3Dubai Holding, Nakheel and Meydan incorporation release, 16 March 2024
- S4Dubai Holding, Group CEO profile
- S5Dubai Holding, Wikipedia
- S6Dubai Holding, Leadership
- S7Dubai Holding, Impact Report 2026
- S8Dubai Holding, completion of Emaar Properties transaction with ICD
- S9Zawya (TradeArabia), Impact Report coverage
- S10Dubai Holding, home page
- S11Dubai Holding, Aldar joint venture expansion release
- S12Dubai Holding, Press releases
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
