Mumtalakat Holding Company
Mumtalakat Holding Company: what it invests in
Geography Domestic and global
Mumtalakat Holding Company: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 19.2B. BHD 7.223B consolidated total assets at the BHD peg of 0.376 per USD, 31 Dec 2024
Mumtalakat Holding Company: what it publishes
Published 5 · Partly 5 · Not published 0
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. Mumtalakat is Bahrain's sovereign wealth fund and holding company for the state's non-oil commercial assets. Set up in 2006 with 29 companies, it now holds more than 60 businesses in 13 countries, from Alba and Gulf Air to McLaren. Consolidated total assets were BHD 7.22 billion (USD 19.2 billion) at end 2024, and 2025 profit to the shareholder reached a record BHD 592.7 million. S1 S7 S4 S6
Key points
- Audited consolidated total assets of BHD 7.22 billion (USD 19.2 billion) and equity of BHD 3.19 billion at 31 December 2024; this is a group balance sheet, not a portfolio value. S4 S5
- Record 2025 profit to the shareholder of BHD 592.7 million on revenue of BHD 2.5 billion, up from BHD 316.5 million restated for 2024. S6
- About 75 percent of investments are in the Middle East and North Africa, 16 percent in Europe and 9 percent in the United States. S5
- Majority owner of McLaren Group alongside CYVN Holdings after the 2025 sale of McLaren Automotive and the buyout of Racing minority holders. S8 S4
- Its companies employ more than 12,000 people in Bahrain and contribute 8 to 10 percent of national GDP each year. S5
- Recent partners include PIF company SBIC, M42, Masdar, SandboxAQ and France's TRAIL, through whose SLAM fund it invests in sport, luxury, arts and music. S9 S6 S10 S11 S12
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
Mumtalakat holds and develops Bahrain's state commercial assets outside oil and gas. It seeks sustainable financial returns while backing national development goals: diversification, jobs and stronger local industries, plus selective international holdings. S14 S6 S5
How it invests
| Industries | Mining and metals, Transport and logistics, Financial services, Telecoms and media, Real estate, Healthcare and life sciences, Technology, Sports, entertainment and gaming. Sector agnostic S17 S9 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Private equity, Real estate, Infrastructure S17 |
| Stages | Buyout, Growth, Venture, Real estate, Infrastructure S17 S12 |
| Geography | Domestic and global. Bahrain first, with a growing sleeve in the UK, Europe and the US; 75 percent MENA, 16 percent Europe, 9 percent USA S5 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / Yes S5 S17 |
| Ticket size | No formal ticket range; deals run from small IPO floats to multi-billion dollar company transactions. S17 |
| Deal sizes seen | About BHD 2.9M (Silah IPO float) to about USD 5B (McLaren deal value) |
| External managers | Holds a few fund positions such as ELM Education Fund and The Arab Energy Fund; no external manager programme is published S17 |
| Co-investment programme | Partners with sovereign and strategic investors on Bahrain programmes and international assets S9 |
Largest holdings: Aluminium Bahrain (Alba) (69.38%), McLaren Group, Gulf Air Group Holding (100%), Edamah (100%), National Bank of Bahrain (44.06%), Beyon Group (36.67%), Hawar Holding (33.33%) (as of 2024-12-31) S4
Published criteria
- Local investments that build capacity and jobs in Bahrain, such as healthcare, food security and clean energy. S6 S10
- International direct and indirect investments run through active management and partnerships. S5
- Works with incumbent management teams, with regular portfolio reviews. S14
Fund commitments
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | SLAM fund (TRAIL). Investor in a private equity fund for sport, luxury, arts and music; TRAIL to open a Manama office. S12 | Fund commitment | Sports, entertainment and gaming | Growth | Not published | |
| 2026 | Silah Gulf IPO. Partial listing of an IT and outsourcing company; 4.0 times subscribed. S20 | Sale or exit | Technology | Public markets | BHD 2.9M (30% of capital) | 30% |
| 2025 | Joint programme with SBIC. Framework with a PIF company for Bahrain deals in TMT, finance, logistics, manufacturing and infrastructure. S9 | Joint venture or partnership | Industrials and manufacturing | Not stated | Not published | |
| 2025 | McLaren Racing minority buyout. McLaren Group bought out MSP Sports Capital and other Racing minority holders. S8 | Direct investment | Sports, entertainment and gaming | Buyout | Not published | |
| 2025 | McLaren Automotive sale to CYVN. CYVN took McLaren Automotive and a non-controlling Racing stake; completed 3 April 2025. S13 S11 | Sale or exit | Industrials and manufacturing | Buyout | About USD 5B deal value | |
| 2025 | Amana Healthcare Bahrain. Healthcare platform launched with M42 of Abu Dhabi. S6 | Joint venture or partnership | Healthcare and life sciences | Growth | Not published | |
| 2025 | Ghitha Food Park. Food security project developed with Edamah. S6 | New company or platform | Agriculture and food security | Infrastructure | Not published |
Case studies
Recasting McLaren S4 S13 S8
- What: Consolidated McLaren Group, sold McLaren Automotive to CYVN, then bought out the Racing minority holders with CYVN.
- When: March 2024 to September 2025
- Size: About USD 5B deal value
- Why: To bring in a well capitalised strategic partner for the road car business and simplify Racing ownership.
- Outcome: Majority owner of McLaren alongside CYVN; McLaren won both F1 titles in 2025.
Alba, the anchor holding S6 S13
- What: Holds about 69 percent of Aluminium Bahrain, among the largest single-site smelters.
- When: 2006 to 2025
- Size: Not published
- Why: A core national industry and the largest asset on the group balance sheet.
- Outcome: Net profit of BHD 218.7 million in 2025 on record output of 1.62 million tonnes.
Silah Gulf listing S20
- What: Sold 30 percent of Silah Gulf in an IPO at BHD 0.176 per share.
- When: January to February 2026
- Size: BHD 2.9M
- Why: To deepen the local market and give the public access to a portfolio company.
- Outcome: Offer 4.0 times covered; trading began on 10 February 2026 as the 41st listing.
Investment process
A board chaired by the Minister of Finance and National Economy oversees the CEO and management. Management investment and risk committees operate under published charters. S2 S6
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Management Investment Committee | Reviews investment proposals under its charter S2 |
| Management Risk Committee | Oversees risk under its charter S2 |
| Board of Directors | Nine members on four-year terms, reconstituted September 2026 S21 |
- Two tracks: international direct and indirect investments, and local impact investments. S5
- Partnerships are framed with sovereign or strategic counterparts, then subject to due diligence. S9
- Management investment committee reviews proposals; the board approves major moves. S2
- Value creation through work with incumbent management and regular portfolio reviews. S14
How to approach: General contact form on the website; Bahrain inward investment also runs through the Economic Development Board. Recent deals were institution to institution. S22
Size and returns
- Headline size: BHD 7.22B (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2024-12-31) S4
- In US dollars: about USD 19.2B. BHD 7.223B consolidated total assets at the BHD peg of 0.376 per USD, 31 Dec 2024
- Total equity, end 2024: BHD 3.19B (Net assets or equity, as of 2024-12-31) S4
- Total assets, mid 2025 (reviewed): BHD 6.76B (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2025-06-30) S16
- Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.
Leadership
| Name | Title | Since |
|---|---|---|
| Shaikh Salman bin Khalifa Al Khalifa | Chairman; Minister of Finance and National Economy S6 S21 | Not published |
| Shaikh Abdulla bin Khalifa Al Khalifa | Chief Executive Officer S23 S19 | 2023-05-01 |
| Omar Syed | Chief Investment Officer, International Investments S5 S19 | Not published |
| Khalid Hussain Taqi | Managing Director, Local Investments S5 S24 | Not published |
| Suha Karzoon | Managing Director, Finance and Technology S5 | Not published |
| Isa Hasan Maseeh | Managing Director, Risk and Portfolio S5 | Not published |
| Rasha Sabkar | Managing Director, Corporate Services S5 | Not published |
| Khalid Amr Al Rumaihi | Board member; former CEO S21 | Not published |
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Royal Decree No. 64/2006; a Bahrain closed shareholding company (B.S.C. (c)) S2
- Oversight: Board appointed under the articles, chaired by the Finance Minister; reconstituted by Decision No. 2 of 2026 S2 S21
- Follows the 2018 Corporate Governance Code and reports compliance with substantially all material provisions. S2 S5
- Board charter, committee charters, a directors' code of conduct and governance guidelines (June 2025) are published. S2
- Statements audited (FY2024) and reviewed (mid 2025) by Ernst and Young Middle East. S4 S16
Transparency score: 7.5 of 10 (band 4 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2006-06-29 | Founded by Royal Decree with 29 companies and BD 5 million. S1 |
| 2023-05-01 | Shaikh Abdulla bin Khalifa Al Khalifa becomes CEO. S23 |
| 2024-03-22 | McLaren Group holding raised to 100 percent. S4 |
| 2025-04-03 | CYVN transaction completed. S11 |
| 2025-09-02 | McLaren Racing minority holders bought out. S8 |
| 2026-02-10 | Silah Gulf starts trading on the Bahrain Bourse. S20 |
| 2026-05-24 | Record 2025 profit of BHD 592.7 million reported. S6 |
| 2026-06-01 | Investment in the TRAIL SLAM fund announced. S12 |
| 2026-09-03 | Board reconstituted for a four-year term. S21 |
For family offices
Mumtalakat works mainly with sovereign, strategic and fund partners. Private investors can reach its assets through Bahrain Bourse listings, and fund managers through its commitments such as the SLAM fund. S12 S20
Reports
- Annual Report 2024: https://d22x99z9pyemfq.cloudfront.net/Annual-Report-2024_LR_2026-04-16-094601_vjzq.pdf S5
- Audited consolidated financial statements 2024: https://ise-prodnr-eu-west-1-data-integration.s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/202506/b50111ea-fc8c-45f7-89f3-0fbee393610f.pdf S4
- Reviewed interim statements, June 2025: https://ise-prodnr-eu-west-1-data-integration.s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/202510/fffd1505-fe94-4d15-9dbf-4865dc83496d.pdf S16
- FY2025 results release: https://www.mumtalakat.bh/news-media/press-releases/mumtalakat-reports-another-record-year-with-profits-rising-to-bhd-592-7-million S6
Common questions
How big is Mumtalakat?
Consolidated total assets were BHD 7.22 billion (USD 19.2 billion) at end 2024, audited. This group balance sheet includes operating companies such as Alba and Gulf Air. S4
Who leads it?
Shaikh Abdulla bin Khalifa Al Khalifa is CEO. Shaikh Salman bin Khalifa Al Khalifa, the Minister of Finance and National Economy, chairs the board. S6 S19
What was the 2025 profit?
BHD 592.7 million attributable to the shareholder, on revenue of BHD 2.5 billion. S6
Is it an IFSWF member?
No. S3
Related profiles
- Investment Corporation of Dubai (ICD) United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · AED 1,680B
- ADQ and L'IMAD Holding United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi) · AED 996.8B
- Dubai Holding United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · AED 500B
- Dubai Investment Fund United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · About USD 80B, estimate
- Wafra Kuwait · KD 119.0M
- Dubai World United Arab Emirates (Dubai) · Not disclosed
All sovereign wealth funds in Middle East · All state holding companys · All funds in Bahrain
Sources
- S1Mumtalakat, Our history
- S2Mumtalakat, Corporate governance
- S3IFSWF, Our members
- S4Mumtalakat, audited consolidated financial statements 2024
- S5Mumtalakat, Annual Report 2024
- S6Mumtalakat, FY2025 results, 24 May 2026
- S7Mumtalakat, Investors
- S8McLaren Racing, shareholder structure update, 2 September 2025
- S9Mumtalakat, agreement with The Saudi Bahraini Investment Company, 4 December 2025
- S10Mumtalakat, MOU with Masdar at COP28
- S11Mumtalakat, News and media
- S12Mumtalakat, partnership with TRAIL and SLAM fund, 1 June 2026
- S13AGBI, Mumtalakat 2025 earnings, 25 May 2026
- S14Mumtalakat, About us
- S15Mumtalakat, FY2024 results, 6 May 2025
- S16Mumtalakat, reviewed interim statements to 30 June 2025
- S17Mumtalakat, Our portfolio
- S18Mumtalakat, Our board
- S19Mumtalakat, Senior management
- S20Bahrain Bourse, Silah Gulf starts trading, 10 February 2026
- S21Crown Prince Court of Bahrain, board decision, 3 September 2026
- S22Mumtalakat, Contact us
- S23Mumtalakat, Shaikh Abdulla bin Khalifa Al Khalifa
- S24Mumtalakat, GCC sovereign funds deputy heads meeting, 22 September 2026
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
