Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority Trust Fund
Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority Trust Fund: what it invests in
Geography Domestic and global
Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority Trust Fund: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 0.7545B. Fund reports in US dollars
Return FY2025 8.1%
Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority Trust Fund: what it publishes
Published 6 · Partly 1 · Not published 3
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. The Alaska Mental Health Trust is a perpetual state trust that funds care for Alaskans with mental illness, addiction, cognitive disabilities and brain injury. Its Trust Fund, invested by the Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation, was USD 754.5 million at 30 June 2025, and it owns about one million acres of land with timber, minerals and real estate. It spends no state general funds. S1
Key points
- Trust Fund of USD 754.5 million at 30 June 2025, up 9.3 percent in the year. S1
- Investment income of USD 74.8 million in fiscal 2025, an 8.1 percent return. S1
- Annual withdrawal rises from 4.25 to 4.5 percent of the four-year average value from fiscal 2027. S1
- Trustees approved USD 30.3 million of grants to partners and state agencies in fiscal 2025. S1
- The Trust Land Office earned USD 12.8 million in fiscal 2025, half added to principal. S1
- Wider financial assets, including reserves and real estate, total about USD 865.5 million. S1
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
Manage Trust land and cash in perpetuity to fund an integrated mental health programme that improves beneficiaries' lives, adding to state services rather than replacing them. S1
- Grow and protect Trust assets for current and future beneficiaries. S1
- Fund grants and system change, such as crisis response. S1
- Earn revenue from land, minerals, timber and real estate. S1
- Spending rule: 4.5 percent of the previous four-year average value of invested assets (from fiscal 2027), plus spendable land income and interest S1
How it invests
| Industries | Healthcare and life sciences, Mining and metals, Real estate, Energy: oil and gas S1 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Public equities, Fixed income, Real estate, Commodities and gold S1 |
| Stages | Public markets, Real estate S1 |
| Geography | Domestic and global. Cash invested in a diverse mix by APFC; land is all in Alaska S1 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / No S1 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size is published. S1 |
| External managers | Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation and Department of Revenue Treasury Division S1 |
| Co-investment programme | None S1 |
Published criteria
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Icy Cape Gold and Industrial Heavy Minerals Project. Wholly on Trust land near Yakutat; 1.126M oz gold indicated plus garnet. S1 | Direct investment | Mining and metals | Not stated | Not published | 100.0% |
| 2025 | Commercial real estate disposals. Two properties sold in fiscal 2025 and one in November 2025, at or above appraisal. S1 | Sale or exit | Real estate | Real estate | Not published | |
| 2025 | Land sale programmes. 35 parcels sold in fiscal 2025. S1 | Sale or exit | Real estate | Real estate | USD 4.4M | |
| 2025 | Basic Housing Assistance Program. Housing help for 6,074 people. S1 | Direct investment | Healthcare and life sciences | Not stated | Not published | |
| Not published | Crisis Now initiative. Mobile crisis teams resolved 84 percent of crises in the community. S1 | Direct investment | Healthcare and life sciences | Not stated | Not published | |
| 2012 | Commercial real estate purchases. Investment properties bought between fiscal 2012 and 2017. S1 | Direct investment | Real estate | Real estate | Not published |
Case studies
Icy Cape: minerals on Trust land S1
- What: Ten years of exploration produced a technical report with resource estimates for gold and garnet.
- When: FY2025
- Size: Not published
- Why: Mineral land could give the Trust a long-term revenue stream.
- Outcome: 1.126M oz gold and over 350,000 tonnes of garnet indicated; titanium and zirconium potential.
Crisis Now S1
- What: A multi-year Trust initiative to build community crisis response and stabilisation services.
- When: Ongoing
- Size: Not published
- Why: To keep people in crisis out of emergency rooms and jails.
- Outcome: 9,500 mobile crisis team responses in five cities.
Exiting commercial real estate S1
- What: Trustees approved selling investment properties bought in fiscal 2012 to 2017.
- When: FY2024 to 2026
- Size: Not published
- Why: To move proceeds into invested reserves.
- Outcome: Three properties sold; proceeds lift future withdrawals.
Investment process
Trustees set strategy and approve the annual budget and grants; APFC and the Department of Revenue invest the cash; the Trust Land Office manages land. S1
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Trustees | Sets strategy, budget and grants S4 |
- Land proceeds go to principal; rents are spendable. S1
- A fixed share of invested assets is withdrawn yearly. S1
- Trustees approve grants to partners and state agencies. S1
- Results reported in an annual report. S1
How to approach: Grant seekers apply through the Trust's grant programmes; there is no investment intake. S1
Size and returns
- Headline size: USD 754.5M (Fund market value, as of 2025-06-30) S1
- In US dollars: about USD 0.7545B. Fund reports in US dollars
- Primary financial assets, including reserves and real estate: USD 865.5M (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2025-06-30) S1
- Return, Fiscal 2025: 8.1 percent (APFC-managed portion earned 9.4 percent) S1
- Size over time (USD million): June 2024 (derived from 9.3% rise) 690.3, June 2025 754.5 S1
Leadership
| Name | Title | Since |
|---|---|---|
| Mary Wilson | Chief Executive Officer S5 | 2025-01-22 |
| Brent Fisher | Board Chair S1 | Not published |
| Corri Feige | Vice Chair S1 | Not published |
| Anita Halterman | Secretary S1 | Not published |
| Kevin Fimon | Trustee S1 | Not published |
| Josie Hickel | Trustee S1 | Not published |
| Agnes Moran | Trustee S1 | Not published |
| John Morris | Trustee S1 | Not published |
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: 1956 federal land transfer and the 1994 settlement establishing the Trust Authority S1
- Oversight: Board of Trustees of a state corporation S4
- The Trust Land Office is a unit of the Alaska Department of Natural Resources. S1
Transparency score: 6.5 of 10 (band 4 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 1956 | Congress transfers one million acres for mental health. S1 |
| 1994 | Settlement creates the Trust Authority. S1 |
| 2012 | Commercial real estate purchases begin. S1 |
| 2025-01-22 | Mary Wilson becomes CEO. S5 |
| 2025 | Icy Cape technical report; new strategic plan. S1 |
| 2025-11 | Third commercial property sold. S1 |
| 2026-02 | FY2025 annual report published. S1 |
For family offices
A perpetual state trust that invests through APFC and manages Alaska land. No co-investment programme; its land and mineral leasing may interest resource developers. S1
Reports
Common questions
How big is the Trust Fund?
USD 754.5 million at 30 June 2025. S1
Who invests it?
The Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation and the Department of Revenue. S1
Who leads the Trust?
CEO Mary Wilson and Board Chair Brent Fisher. S5 S1
Who benefits?
Alaskans with mental illness, addictions, cognitive disabilities, brain injury and related conditions. S1
Related profiles
- Alaska Permanent Fund United States (Alaska) · USD 91.9B
- New Mexico State Investment Council (SIC) United States (New Mexico) · USD 74.63B
- Texas Permanent School Fund United States (Texas) · USD 60.6B
- Texas Permanent University Fund (PUF) United States (Texas) · USD 40.29B
- Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund Canada (Alberta) · C$31.9B
- North Dakota Legacy Fund United States (North Dakota) · USD 15.10B
All sovereign wealth funds in North America · All sub-national permanent funds · All funds in United States
Sources
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
