Text or WhatsApp (Not an AI Bot):(808) 600-9260Tell me your situation

Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund

Canada · North America · Founded 1976 · Sub-national permanent fund · IFSWF full member

Focus

Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund: what it invests in

Real estateInfrastructure and utilitiesFinancial services
Public equitiesPrivate equityFixed incomePrivate creditReal estateInfrastructure

Geography Global

Scale

Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund: how big it is, and on what basis

C$31.9B
Net assets or equityAs of

In US dollars: about USD 23.3B. At 1.3692 Canadian dollars per US dollar, ECB reference rate for 31 December 2025.

10-year return 7.5% a year

Transparency

Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund: what it publishes

8.5 of 10 Band 5 of 5

Published 8 · Partly 1 · Not published 1

Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.

Net financial assetsS5
C$31.9B (about USD 23.3B, December 2025)
As of
10-year returnS5
7.5% a year
As of
Return 2024-25S3
9.7%
As of
2050 targetS4
C$250B
Invested in AlbertaS3
C$1.5B (March 2025)
As of
Income paid to budgetsS3
About C$42B (since 1982-83)
As of
Transparency scoreS5
8.5 of 10
As of

At a glance. Alberta's resource savings fund, set up in 1976 with C$1.5 billion, held C$31.9 billion (about USD 23.3 billion) at 31 December 2025. Since 2022-23 it keeps all its income, and the province aims to grow it to C$250 billion by 2050. A new Crown corporation sets policy and AIMCo invests a global balanced portfolio: about half equities, a quarter bonds and a quarter real assets. S5 S6 S4

Key points

  • Net financial assets of C$31.922 billion at 31 December 2025, including a C$2.8 billion contribution still due from the General Revenue Fund. S5
  • Returns: 8.8 percent a year over five years and 7.5 percent over ten years to December 2025; 9.7 percent in fiscal 2024-25. S5 S3
  • Target: C$250 billion by 2050, through retained income and surplus deposits. S4
  • Since 2025 the Heritage Fund Opportunities Corporation, an arm's-length Crown corporation, approves policy and can manage part of the fund directly. S4
  • About C$42 billion of income has gone to provincial budgets since 1982-83. S3
  • Rated 8.5 of 10 on our transparency check, with quarterly reports issued within two months. S5

Interesting facts

  • In its early years it lent about C$1.9 billion to other Canadian provinces and their utilities, starting with Newfoundland and Labrador in 1977. S1
  • It once owned stakes in Syncrude and the Alberta Energy Company, which was later part of Ovintiv. S1
  • Value per Albertan peaked above C$12,000 in 1983 and was nearly C$5,500 in 2025. S3

Mandate and goals

Prudent stewardship of Alberta's non-renewable resource savings, seeking the best financial return for current and future generations. The fund applies no non-financial mandates. S3 S2

  • Real return of Canadian CPI plus 4.5 percent a year, net of costs, over rolling five years. S3
  • Beat a passive policy benchmark by 1.0 percent a year over rolling five years. S3
  • Grow to C$250 billion by 2050 and reduce reliance on resource revenue. S4 S1
  • Spending rule: Income stays in the fund unless Treasury Board authorises a withdrawal (since 2022-23) S3

How it invests

IndustriesReal estate, Infrastructure and utilities, Financial services. Sector agnostic S5
Asset classesPublic equities, Private equity, Fixed income, Private credit, Real estate, Infrastructure S5
StagesPublic markets, Real estate, Infrastructure, Credit S5
GeographyGlobal. No target for Alberta; country weights are not published. Foreign currency assets were about 46 percent of the invested portfolio in December 2025 S3 S5
Direct / through funds / co-investNo / Yes / No S5 S4
Ticket sizeNo ticket size is published; deals are made inside AIMCo pools. S5
External managersAIMCo is the main manager; HFOC can direct transfers between managers S4
Co-investment programmePlanned through global partnerships under the 2025 roadmap S8

Asset mix: Equities 48.8%, Interest-bearing securities 24.4%, Real estate 15.4%, Infrastructure 9.1%, Other inflation sensitive and alternatives 2.0%, Strategic, tactical and currency 0.3% (as of 2025-12-31) S5

Published criteria

  • Policy mix from 1 December 2025: equities 48.5 percent (range 35 to 70), interest-bearing 24.5 percent (15 to 45), inflation sensitive and alternatives 27.0 percent (15 to 40). S5
  • Up to 2 percent in strategic opportunities and up to 5 percent in currency overlays. S5
  • No material leverage; derivatives only for risk management or efficient structuring. S5
  • Global partnerships with like-minded institutional investors are a pillar of the new model. S8

Past investments

YearInvestmentTypeSectorStageAmountStake
2025C$2.8B surplus contribution. Approved by Treasury Board on 7 July 2025 from 2024-25 surplus cash. S5State asset transferFinancial servicesNot statedC$2.8B
2024C$2.0B new money, Budget 2024. Held in short-term instruments pending the new investment plan. S3State asset transferFinancial servicesNot statedC$2.0B
2005Surplus deposits 2005-06 to 2007-08. First deposits in 19 years, made over three fiscal years. S1State asset transferFinancial servicesNot statedC$3.9B
1993Alberta Energy Company stake sale. Province sold its 36 percent stake. S1Sale or exitEnergy: oil and gasNot statedC$476M (C$183M to the fund)36.0%
1993Syncrude Canada, 5 percent stake sale. First step in selling the province's 15 percent Syncrude interest. S1Sale or exitEnergy: oil and gasNot statedC$150M5.0%
Not publishedKananaskis Country Golf Course. Built under Premier Lougheed to support tourism and diversify the economy. S1Direct investmentTourism and hospitalityReal estateC$25.5M
1977Canada Investment Division loans. Loans to provinces and utilities until May 1984. S1Direct investmentFinancial servicesCreditC$1.9B in total
1977Province of Newfoundland and Labrador loan. Private placement for 21 years at a 10 percent coupon. S1Direct investmentFinancial servicesCreditC$50M
1976Opening portfolio. Cash, provincial Crown debentures and shares in Alberta energy companies. S1State asset transferEnergy: oil and gasNot statedC$1.5B

Case studies

Lending to other provinces S1

  • What: A Canada Investment Division made loans to provinces and their utilities, starting with C$50M to Newfoundland and Labrador.
  • When: 1977 to 1984
  • Size: C$1.9B in total
  • Why: Alberta lent at the rate of the strongest provincial borrower, cutting costs for others.
  • Outcome: The division was suspended in 1984 and money was redirected to Alberta investments.

From strategic stakes to a financial portfolio S1

  • What: The province sold its Alberta Energy Company stake and began selling its Syncrude interest.
  • When: 1993 to 1996
  • Size: C$476M and C$150M sales
  • Why: Policy shifted to treating the fund as a savings tool run for financial return.
  • Outcome: A 1996 Act split it into transition and endowment portfolios, moving to long-term investing by 2005.

The 2025 renewal S4 S9 S5

  • What: A new arm's-length Crown corporation took over policy and oversight, with a target of C$250B by 2050.
  • When: 2025 to 2026
  • Size: Not published
  • Why: To grow the fund into a larger, independent investor less tied to resource revenue.
  • Outcome: New policy mix from December 2025 and a CEO from July 2026; forecast C$34.4B by March 2027.

Investment process

The Finance Minister is responsible for the investments and delegates authority to the HFOC board, which approves the investment policy, monitors compliance and oversees portfolio construction and risk. AIMCo selects securities inside its pools. S4 S5

CommitteeRole
HFOC Board of DirectorsApproves the investment policy and oversees portfolio construction and risk S4
Standing Committee on the Alberta Heritage Savings Trust FundAll-party committee that reviews quarterly reports, approves the annual report and holds a public meeting S10
  1. Treasury Board approves deposits from surplus cash. S5
  2. The HFOC board sets the policy mix and return goals. S4
  3. Money is allocated to AIMCo pools or managed directly by HFOC. S4
  4. Results are reported quarterly and audited each year. S5 S3

How to approach: Partnership enquiries go to the Heritage Fund Opportunities Corporation; no public intake form is listed. S9

Size and returns

  • Headline size: C$31.9B (Net assets or equity, as of 2025-12-31) S5 S6
  • In US dollars: about USD 23.3B. At 1.3692 Canadian dollars per US dollar, ECB reference rate for 31 December 2025.
  • Net financial assets, audited, March 2025: C$27.2B (Net assets or equity, as of 2025-03-31) S3
  • Government forecast, March 2027: C$34.4B (Published estimate, as of 2026-08-27) S7
  • Growth target, 2050: C$250B (Announced target, not current assets) S4
  • Return, Fiscal 2024-25: 9.7 percent (net income C$1.87 billion) S3
  • Return, 5 years to December 2025: 8.8 percent a year S5
  • Return, 10 years to December 2025: 7.5 percent a year S5
  • Return, Fiscal year to date, 9 months to December 2025: 7.7 percent a year (not annualised) S5
  • Size over time (CAD billion): 1993 15.3, 2014 17.3, March 2021 17.8, March 2025 27.16, December 2025 31.92 S1 S3 S5

Leadership

NameTitleSince
Aarnoud van WeelderenChief Executive Officer, HFOC S92026-07-01
Joe Lougheed, KCBoard Chair, HFOC S9Not published
Jason NixonPresident of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance S9Not published
Ray GilmourChief Executive Officer, AIMCo S4Not published
Jacqueline CurzonDirector, HFOC S4Not published
Chana MartineauDirector, HFOC S4Not published
David PotterDirector, HFOC S4Not published
Mary RitchieDirector, HFOC S4Not published
Robert SavinDirector, HFOC S4Not published
Olaug SvarvaDirector, HFOC S4Not published

Governance and transparency

  • Legal basis: Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund Act (RSA 2000, Chapter A-23, as amended) S3
  • Oversight: HFOC board at arm's length from government; all-party Standing Committee of the Legislature S4 S10
  • Auditor: Auditor General of Alberta, under Canadian public sector accounting standards S3
  • Santiago Principles: IFSWF full member; Santiago Principles self-assessment completed; HFOC board oversees compliance S2 S4
  • Board members are chosen through a skills-based process under the Alberta Public Agencies Governance Act. S4
  • At least half of annual surplus cash must go to debt repayment or the fund. S3

Transparency score: 8.5 of 10 (band 5 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.

  • Published: total assets, annual return, long-term returns, asset allocation, audited financial statements, governance and mandate documents, named leadership, regular reporting schedule. S3 S4 S5
  • Partly published: geographic or sector split. S3
  • Not published: holdings or deal list. S5

History

DateEvent
1976-05-19Act passed; C$1.5B opening transfer. S1
1977-03-08First loan to another province. S1
1983Resource share cut from 30 to 15 percent. S1
1987Resource deposits end. S1
1993Energy stakes sold. S1
1996-05-23New Act moves the fund toward long-term investing. S1
2005Surplus deposits resume. S1
2008-01-01AIMCo takes over management. S3
2022Fund starts keeping its income. S3
2025-07-07C$2.8B contribution approved. S5
2025-12-01New policy mix. S5
2026-07-01HFOC CEO takes office. S9

For family offices

The fund invests through AIMCo pools and its new Crown corporation. Its 2025 roadmap names global partnerships with like-minded institutions as a pillar, which may open co-investment routes over time. S8 S4

  • Partnerships with like-minded institutional investors under the renewal plan. S8

Reports

Common questions

How big is the Alberta Heritage Fund?

C$31.9 billion of net financial assets at 31 December 2025, about USD 23.3 billion. S5 S6

Who manages it?

AIMCo manages the pools; the Heritage Fund Opportunities Corporation sets policy and can manage part directly. S4

What returns has it made?

8.8 percent a year over five years and 7.5 percent over ten years to December 2025. S5

What is the growth target?

C$250 billion by 2050. S4

Does the fund spend its income?

Since 2022-23 income stays in the fund unless Treasury Board approves a withdrawal. S3

All sovereign wealth funds in North America · All sub-national permanent funds · All funds in Canada

Sources

  1. S1Wikipedia, Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund
  2. S2IFSWF, Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund member profile
  3. S3Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund, Annual Report 2024-25
  4. S4Government of Alberta, Heritage Savings Trust Fund
  5. S5Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund, 2025-26 third quarter report
  6. S6Frankfurter (ECB reference rates), USD/CAD 31 December 2025
  7. S7Government of Alberta, 2026-27 First Quarter Fiscal Update
  8. S8Government of Alberta, Renewing the Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund (2025)
  9. S9Heritage Fund Opportunities Corporation, CEO appointed to lead Alberta Heritage Funds growth, 9 July 2026
  10. S10Legislative Assembly of Alberta, Standing Committee on the Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund

Disclaimer

Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.

Richard C. Wilson

Talk to a human.

I'm Richard C. Wilson, founder of Family Office Club. I read the messages that come in through this site myself. Text or WhatsApp me at (808) 600-9260, or email Richard@SovereignWealthFunds.com. Thank you.

Tell me your situation