Fund for Reconstruction and Development of the Republic of Uzbekistan
Fund for Reconstruction and Development of the Republic of Uzbekistan: what it invests in
Geography Mainly domestic
Fund for Reconstruction and Development of the Republic of Uzbekistan: how big it is, and on what basis
Fund for Reconstruction and Development of the Republic of Uzbekistan: what it publishes
Published 1 · Partly 9 · Not published 0
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. UFRD is Uzbekistan's state development fund, set up in 2006 under the Cabinet of Ministers to finance modernisation of core industries. It has funded 136 projects worth USD 27.72B in total cost, including USD 12.55B of its own loans, and holds joint investment companies with Oman, Abu Dhabi, Azerbaijan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan plus 26 percent of Almalyk MMC. S5
Key points
- 84 projects completed (USD 17.87B) and 52 under way (USD 9.86B) in total project cost. S5
- Net profit of UZS 17.9 trillion in 2024, against UZS 29.5 trillion in 2023, mostly from exchange rate differences. S3
- Long-term investments rose almost 60 percent to UZS 58.9 trillion in 2024. S3
- Acquired 26 percent of Almalyk Mining and Metallurgical Combine in 2024. S5
- Takes equity of up to 25 percent in new enterprises with foreign participation. S5
- The Prime Minister chairs the Council that governs the fund. S1
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
Finance modernisation and technical re-equipment of core sectors and carry out structural and investment policy. S1
How it invests
| Industries | Energy: oil and gas, Mining and metals, Transport and logistics, Industrials and manufacturing, Infrastructure and utilities, Telecoms and media S5 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Private credit, Strategic state holdings, Infrastructure S5 |
| Stages | Infrastructure, Credit, Growth S5 |
| Geography | Mainly domestic. Mostly domestic, with joint investment companies abroad S5 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / No / Yes S5 |
| Ticket size | Loans of USD 90M to USD 243M on large projects; equity up to 25 percent in new ventures S5 |
| Deal sizes seen | USD 12M to USD 243M |
| External managers | None published S5 |
| Co-investment programme | Joint investment companies with partner states and co-financing with international lenders S5 |
Largest holdings: Almalyk MMC (26%), Tashkent Metallurgical Plant EUR 155M capital (49.9%), Uzbekistan-Oman Investment Company USD 231M capital (25%) S5
Published criteria
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | Almalyk MMC. Acquired a 26 percent stake in the copper and gold producer. S5 | Direct investment | Mining and metals | Growth | Not published | 26% |
| 2023 | Azerbaijan-Uzbekistan Investment Company. Joint vehicle with Azerbaijan's Ministry of Economy; fund holds 25 percent. S5 | Joint venture or partnership | Multi-sector | Not stated | USD 50M capital | 25% |
| 2022 | Direct Investment Fund. Wholly owned investment vehicle. S5 | New company or platform | Multi-sector | Not stated | USD 100M | 100% |
| 2021 | Uzbekistan-Kyrgyzstan Development Fund. Wholly owned fund for cross-border projects with Kyrgyzstan. S5 | New company or platform | Financial services | Not stated | USD 40.5M capital | 100% |
| 2021 | Tajik-Uzbek Investment Company. Fund holds 75 percent alongside Tajikistan's investment committee. S5 | Joint venture or partnership | Multi-sector | Not stated | USD 12M capital | 75% |
| 2019 | Abu Dhabi Uzbek Investment. Fund holds 25 percent with the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development. S5 | Joint venture or partnership | Multi-sector | Not stated | USD 147M capital | 25% |
| 2017 | Tashkent Metallurgical Plant. Fund holds 49.9 percent of the steel plant. S5 | Joint venture or partnership | Industrials and manufacturing | Not stated | EUR 155M capital | 49.9% |
| 2009 | Uzbekistan-Oman Investment Company. Fund holds 25 percent; Oman Investment Authority holds 75 percent. S5 | Joint venture or partnership | Multi-sector | Not stated | USD 231M capital | 25% |
| Not published | Angren-Pop railway. Loan towards the USD 1,702M electrified line. S5 | Direct investment | Transport and logistics | Infrastructure | USD 242.5M loan | |
| Not published | Ustyurt gas-chemical complex. Loan towards the USD 3,890M project. S5 | Direct investment | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | USD 90.7M loan | |
| Not published | Yoshlik-I mine. Loan towards the USD 4,799.3M mine. S5 | Direct investment | Mining and metals | Infrastructure | USD 217.1M loan |
Case studies
Building the Angren-Pop railway S5
- What: Fund loan to the electrified Angren-Pop railway line.
- When: Completed project
- Size: USD 242.5M loan; USD 1,702M total
- Why: Modernise transport infrastructure, a core fund task.
- Outcome: Listed among completed projects.
Joint investment companies with partner states S5
- What: Vehicles with Oman, Abu Dhabi, Azerbaijan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan.
- When: 2009 to 2023
- Size: USD 12M to USD 231M capital each
- Why: Pool sovereign capital for projects in Uzbekistan and the region.
- Outcome: Six vehicles listed on the fund's site.
Stake in Almalyk MMC S5
- What: Acquired 26 percent of the mining and metallurgical group.
- When: 2024
- Size: Not published
- Why: Support expansion including the Yoshlik-I mine.
- Outcome: Strategic holding alongside project loans.
Investment process
Projects are financed by presidential and government resolution; the Council chaired by the Prime Minister governs and the Executive Directorate administers. S5 S1
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Council for the Management of the Fund | Supreme governing body, chaired by the Prime Minister S1 |
| Executive Directorate | Administers the fund's money S1 |
- Government resolution selects a project. S5
- Fund lends directly or via banks, or takes equity. S5
- Co-financing arranged with partners. S5
How to approach: General contact page on the fund's site. S5
Size and returns
- Headline size: Not disclosed (Total assets (balance sheet)) S5
- Financed project portfolio, total cost: USD 27.72B (Committed or authorised capital) S5
- Fund loans in those projects: USD 12.55B (Committed or authorised capital) S5
- Long-term investments, 2024: UZS 58.9 trillion (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2024-12-31) S3
- Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.
Leadership
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Presidential Decree PF-3751 of 11 May 2006 S1
- Oversight: Cabinet of Ministers; Council chaired by the Prime Minister S1
- Executive Director appointed by the Cabinet with deputy minister status. S1
- Annual revenue and spending forecast set by the budget law. S4
Transparency score: 5.5 of 10 (band 3 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
For family offices
Works with sovereign partners and international lenders; no programme for private investors is published. S5
Reports
- Audited financial statements 2017: https://ufrd.uz/f/2018_yilgi_audit_xulosasi_bilan_moliyaviy_hisobot_ingliz_tilida.pdf S7
Common questions
When was UFRD founded?
In 2006, by Presidential Decree PF-3751. S1
Who leads it?
Shukhrat Vafaev, Executive Director since August 2017. S8
What does it hold?
Joint investment companies with five partner states, 26 percent of Almalyk MMC and project loans. S5
How profitable was it in 2024?
Net profit of UZS 17.9 trillion. S3
Related profiles
- National Development Fund (Taiwan) Taiwan · NT$2,098.5B
- Baiterek National Investment Holding Kazakhstan · KZT 19,047.6B
- Japan Investment Corporation (JIC) Japan · JPY 2.60T
- CNIC Corporation Limited Hong Kong SAR, China · USD 11.1B capital
- China-Africa Development Fund (CADFund) China · USD 10B fund scale
- Hong Kong Investment Corporation (HKIC) Hong Kong SAR, China · HK$62B
All sovereign wealth funds in Asia · All strategic development funds · All funds in Uzbekistan
Sources
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
