Federal Holding and Investment Company (SFPIM / FPIM), Belgium
Federal Holding and Investment Company (SFPIM / FPIM), Belgium: what it invests in
Geography Mainly domestic
Federal Holding and Investment Company (SFPIM / FPIM), Belgium: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 13.7B. Converted at EUR 0.85106 per US dollar on 31 December 2025.
Federal Holding and Investment Company (SFPIM / FPIM), Belgium: what it publishes
Published 4 · Partly 6 · Not published 0
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. SFPIM is the Belgian federal state's holding and investment company and describes itself as the country's federal sovereign fund. It had a EUR 11.7 billion balance sheet at end 2025, about USD 13.7 billion, with 189 portfolio companies. It holds strategic stakes in banks, insurers and market infrastructure and invests in priority sectors such as aeronautics, mobility, defence and the energy transition. S4 S1 S6
Key points
- Balance sheet of EUR 11,679 million at end 2025, of which EUR 9,847 million in financial fixed assets and EUR 1,355 million in cash. S4
- 189 companies in the portfolio and 8 new companies or funds added in 2025, run by a team of 40. S4
- Top 10 holdings make up about 90 percent of portfolio value, led by Euroclear, BNP Paribas, Fluxys and Euronext. S1
- In 2026 SFPIM began a process to sell up to 20 percent of its Belfius shares, advised by BofA Securities. S7
- Runs a EUR 250 million ecological transition envelope set by royal decree in January 2023. S1
- Wants at least one board seat in every company it backs and weighs social value alongside return. S2
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
SFPIM invests for the Belgian state in companies of strategic or economic interest, balancing financial return with social value. It also carries out delegated missions, holding and managing assets on the state's behalf. S2 S1 S7
How it invests
| Industries | Financial services, Industrials and manufacturing, Transport and logistics, Energy: oil and gas, Renewables and climate, Infrastructure and utilities S1 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Private equity, Venture capital, Private credit, Cash and money markets S4 S1 |
| Stages | Venture, Growth, Buyout, Infrastructure S1 S8 |
| Geography | Mainly domestic. Belgium, with an international subsidiary S1 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / Yes S4 S2 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size is published. S2 |
| External managers | Not described S8 |
| Co-investment programme | Invests alongside private shareholders in many holdings S1 |
Sector weights: Priority sectors 93.0%, Real estate 2.4% (as of 2023-12-31) S1
Published criteria
- A clear strategy with credible 3 to 5 year forecasts in a financial plan. S2
- A balance sheet in line with market practice and a normal level of profitability. S2
- Social value: useful products, jobs, ethics, environment, human and consumer rights. S2
- Sound corporate governance rules that are clear and transparent. S2
- At least one SFPIM representative on the investee's board. S2
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Belfius Bank (partial sale). Sale process for capital partners, run for the state under a delegated mission; expressions of interest were due 20 August 2026. S7 | Sale or exit | Financial services | Not stated | Up to 20% of SFPIM's shares |
| Not published | Euroclear. Securities settlement group; one of the top 10 holdings. S1 | Direct investment | Financial services | Not stated | Not published |
| Not published | BNP Paribas. Listed bank stake held as a strategic asset; a top 10 holding. S1 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | Not published |
| Not published | Fluxys. Gas transmission and storage group; a top 10 holding. S1 | Direct investment | Energy: oil and gas | Infrastructure | Not published |
| Not published | Euronext. Pan-European exchange operator; a top 10 holding. S1 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | Not published |
| Not published | bpost. Listed postal and parcels group; a top 10 holding. S1 | Direct investment | Transport and logistics | Public markets | Not published |
| Not published | Ageas and Ethias. Insurance holdings named as strategic assets. S1 | Direct investment | Financial services | Not stated | Not published |
| Not published | Brussels Airport. National airport operator; a top 10 holding. S1 | Direct investment | Transport and logistics | Infrastructure | Not published |
| Not published | Lineas Group loan. Loan to the rail freight operator under a delegated mission. S8 | Direct investment | Transport and logistics | Credit | Not published |
| Not published | Belgian Growth Fund II. Growth fund programme; SFPIM ran the selection of its fund services provider. S8 | Fund commitment | Technology | Growth | Not published |
Case studies
Opening Belfius to a capital partner S7
- What: SFPIM launched the sale of up to 20 percent of its Belfius ordinary shares to partners joining the main shareholders.
- When: 2026
- Size: Up to 20% of shares
- Why: Partial privatisation of the bank, run for the Belgian state.
- Outcome: Expressions of interest closed 20 August 2026.
Ecological transition envelope S1 S8
- What: A EUR 250M delegated mission to invest in the energy and ecological transition, with a published strategy and charter.
- When: From 2023
- Size: EUR 250M
- Why: Set by royal decree to steer state capital into transition projects.
Investment process
A Board of Directors oversees SFPIM; an executive committee led by the CEO, with two Chief Investment Officers, runs investments. Delegated missions are carried out for the state under article 2 of the 1962 law. S1 S5 S7
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Directors | Oversight of strategy and investments S1 |
| Executive committee | CEO, finance chief and two CIOs S5 |
- The company prepares a full file, including a 3 to 5 year financial plan. S2
- SFPIM weighs financial return against social value and governance. S2
- The Board approves; SFPIM takes at least one board seat. S2
- SFPIM follows the investment and reviews its own strategy every four years. S2
How to approach: Companies submit a full investment file as set out on the investment criteria page. S2
Size and returns
- Headline size: EUR 11,679M (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2025-12-31) S4
- In US dollars: about USD 13.7B. Converted at EUR 0.85106 per US dollar on 31 December 2025.
- Own funds: EUR 11,445M (Net assets or equity, as of 2025-12-31) S4
- Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.
- Staff: Team of 40 S4
- Size over time (EUR million): 2021 2,521, 2022 10,077, 2023 9,709, 2024 11,523, 2025 11,679 S4
Leadership
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Law of 2 April 1962 on the Federal Holding and Investment Company and the regional investment companies S1
- Oversight: Federal government as sole shareholder; Board of Directors S2 S1
- Auditor: Statutory auditor appointed by the general meeting on 10 May 2022 S1
- Not an IFSWF member. S3
- Publishes an ecological transition charter and a CSR approach. S8
Transparency score: 7.0 of 10 (band 4 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
For family offices
SFPIM invests alongside private shareholders in Belgian companies and funds. Families may meet it as co-shareholders in growth companies or as fellow investors in the funds it backs. S2 S8
Reports
- Annual report 2023 (French): https://sfpim.be/uploads/2025/11/SFPIM_RA2023_DEF_LR.pdf S1
- Publications: annual accounts to 2025 and reports since 2006: https://sfpim.be/fr/publication-et-actualites/ S8
Common questions
How big is SFPIM?
Its balance sheet was EUR 11.7 billion at end 2025, about USD 13.7 billion. S4 S6
Who leads it?
Koenraad Van Loo is CEO. S5
What law governs it?
The law of 2 April 1962. S1
What does it look for in an investment?
A clear strategy, credible 3 to 5 year forecasts, normal profitability, social value and good governance, plus a board seat. S2
Is it selling part of Belfius?
Yes. In 2026 it launched a process to sell up to 20 percent of its Belfius ordinary shares to capital partners. S7
Related profiles
- Turkiye Wealth Fund (TWF) Turkiye · TRY 18,997B
- Oesterreichische Beteiligungs AG (OBAG) Austria · EUR 30.05B
- Sociedad Estatal de Participaciones Industriales Spain · EUR 15.01B
- Slovenian Sovereign Holding Slovenia · EUR 14.0B
- Growthfund (Hellenic Corporation of Assets and Participations S.A.) Greece · EUR 12.3B AUM (2024)
- Parpublica (Portugal) Portugal · EUR 10.82B
All sovereign wealth funds in Europe · All state holding companys · All funds in Belgium
Sources
- S1SFPIM, Annual report 2023 (French)
- S2SFPIM, Investment criteria (French)
- S3IFSWF, members list
- S4SFPIM, Key figures (French)
- S5SFPIM, The team (French)
- S6Frankfurter, USD to EUR rate on 31 December 2025
- S7SFPIM, Belfius partial privatisation: call for expressions of interest (French)
- S8SFPIM, Publications and news (French)
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
