Samruk-Kazyna JSC
Samruk-Kazyna JSC: what it invests in
Geography Mainly domestic
Samruk-Kazyna JSC: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 87.5B. At KZT 505.53 per US dollar, the end 2025 official rate used in the fund's statements.
Samruk-Kazyna JSC: what it publishes
Published 7 · Partly 3 · Not published 0
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. Samruk-Kazyna is Kazakhstan's sovereign wealth fund and the state holding company for its national champions in oil and gas, uranium, rail, power, telecoms and post. Audited group assets were KZT 44.2 trillion at end 2025, about USD 87.5 billion. About 96 percent of assets are in Kazakhstan, and the fund co-invests with foreign partners as a minority holder in new projects. S3 S5
Key points
- 2025 revenue of KZT 18.8 trillion, EBITDA of KZT 5.6 trillion and net income to the state of KZT 2.3 trillion. S3
- Paid KZT 431 billion of dividends to the state and KZT 3.6 trillion of taxes in 2025. S3
- Completed 10 projects worth KZT 1.1 trillion in 2025 and plans KZT 3.2 trillion of projects in 2026. S3 S6
- Seven portfolio companies are listed, worth more than USD 50 billion together; Kazatomprom and Air Astana trade in London. S5
- Rated BBB- by S&P, Baa1 by Moody's and BBB by Fitch in 2025. S3
- Plans to become an investment holding by 2030, keeping majority stakes only in strategic assets and selling the rest through IPOs. S3
- First half 2026 profit rose 21.8 percent to KZT 1.74 trillion; assets reached KZT 46.67 trillion. S7
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
Raise the national wealth of Kazakhstan by growing the long-term value of the companies in the group, under a Development Plan to 2032. S3
- Increase net asset value over the long term. S3
- Open markets to competition through IPOs and share sales that cut the state's footprint. S3
- Build major infrastructure and the resource base, and form global partnerships. S3
- Preserve wealth for future generations and diversify by country, sector and asset class. S3
- Attract foreign direct investment without crowding out private firms. S3
How it invests
| Industries | Energy: oil and gas, Mining and metals, Transport and logistics, Infrastructure and utilities, Renewables and climate, Telecoms and media, Industrials and manufacturing, Healthcare and life sciences S3 S5 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Strategic state holdings, Private equity, Infrastructure, Public equities S3 |
| Stages | Infrastructure, Growth, Buyout, Public markets S3 |
| Geography | Mainly domestic. About 96 percent of assets in Kazakhstan and 4 percent abroad S5 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / No / Yes S3 |
| Ticket size | No minimum or ticket size is published. S3 |
| Deal sizes seen | USD 1.1B (tungsten project capex, 2025) to about USD 7B (Air Astana aircraft order, 2025) in the deals below |
| External managers | No external managers; assets are held directly in group companies S3 |
| Co-investment programme | Co-investment mechanism for new projects with strategic partners; Samruk-Kazyna Invest makes direct deals with partners S3 S5 |
Largest holdings: KazMunayGas (67.42%), Kazatomprom (62.99%), Kazakhtelecom (80.85%), KEGOC (85%), Kazakhstan Temir Zholy (100%), QazaqGaz (100%), Samruk-Energy (100%), Kazpost (100%), Tau-Ken Samruk (100%), Samruk-Kazyna Invest (100%) (as of 2025-12-31) S3
Published criteria
- Commercial case first: each investment must make business sense. S3
- Domestic deals follow a "yellow pages" rule so the fund does not compete with private firms. S3
- In co-investments it takes a minority, shares risk, helps with government agencies and improves project credit. S3
- From 2025 it joins only co-investments it judges critically important. S3
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Kazakhstan Temir Zholy IPO (planned). Planned triple listing of up to 20 percent of the railway. S9 S3 | Sale or exit | Transport and logistics | Public markets | Up to USD 5B (reported) | 20% |
| 2025 | KazNPP. Nuclear power company handed to the state on 30 December 2025. S3 | State asset transfer | Infrastructure and utilities | Not stated | Not published | |
| 2025 | Air Astana Boeing 787-9 order. Order for 18 aircraft by its airline. S5 | Direct investment | Transport and logistics | Not stated | About USD 7B (list price) | |
| 2025 | KTZ locomotive financing. Loan backed by US EXIM to buy Wabtec locomotives. S5 | Direct investment | Transport and logistics | Credit | USD 1.6B | |
| 2025 | North Katpar and Upper Kairakty tungsten. Joint development, subject to feasibility. S5 | Joint venture or partnership | Mining and metals | Not stated | USD 1.1B capex | |
| 2025 | Kyzylorda combined cycle power plant. 1,100 MW plant; building from 2026. S3 | Joint venture or partnership | Infrastructure and utilities | Infrastructure | Not published | |
| 2025 | Aktau container hub. 120,000 TEU capacity. S3 | Direct investment | Transport and logistics | Infrastructure | Not published | |
| 2025 | Dostyk to Moyynty second track. Rail line capacity up fivefold. S3 | Direct investment | Transport and logistics | Infrastructure | Not published | |
| 2025 | SANY wind turbine components plant. Plant in Zhambyl region launched. S3 | Joint venture or partnership | Renewables and climate | Not stated | Not published | |
| Not published | Masdar renewables and storage agreement. Collaboration on renewable power and storage. S10 | Joint venture or partnership | Renewables and climate | Infrastructure | Not published |
Case studies
KTZ: listing the national railway S9 S3
- What: Preparing an IPO of up to 20 percent of Kazakhstan Temir Zholy on three exchanges.
- When: 2026 (planned)
- Size: Up to USD 5B at a USD 30B valuation (reported)
- Why: The plan to 2032 calls for selling stakes to cut the state's share and deepen markets; KTZ profit rose to KZT 343.6B in 2025.
Tungsten with Cove Capital: the co-investment model S5
- What: Agreed to develop two tungsten deposits with a US partner.
- When: November 2025
- Size: USD 1.1B planned capex
- Why: Shows the fund's minority, partner-led model for bringing foreign capital into critical minerals.
- Outcome: Subject to a feasibility study.
Delivering national infrastructure S3 S6
- What: Completed ten projects in 2025, from a desalination plant to container hubs and a second rail track.
- When: 2025
- Size: KZT 1.1T
- Why: The fund is the main builder of power, transport and water capacity at home.
- Outcome: KZT 3.2T of projects planned for 2026 and 38 projects worth KZT 21T for 2027 to 2029.
Investment process
The government, as sole shareholder, approves the governance code, appoints the board and CEO, and approves the Development Plan. The board, chaired by the Prime Minister, oversees 62 priority initiatives. S3 S5
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Directors | Chaired by the Prime Minister; held 21 meetings and handled 79 issues in 2025 S3 |
| Audit Committee | Board committee on audit S3 |
| Nomination and Remuneration Committee | Board committee on appointments and pay S3 |
| Management Board | Executive body chaired by the CEO S4 |
- Projects come through the investment arm, Samruk-Kazyna Invest, or a portfolio company. S3
- The fund screens for commercial sense and the "yellow pages" rule. S3
- For partner projects it takes a minority stake and shares risk. S3
- Mature assets move to private owners through privatisation, IPO or share sales. S3
How to approach: Project proposals go to Samruk-Kazyna Invest or the relevant portfolio company; the website lists the fund's public contacts. S3
Size and returns
- Headline size: KZT 44.2T (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2025-12-31) S3
- In US dollars: about USD 87.5B. At KZT 505.53 per US dollar, the end 2025 official rate used in the fund's statements.
- Equity, end 2025: KZT 27.2T (about USD 53.8B) (Net assets or equity, as of 2025-12-31) S3
- Assets, 30 June 2026 (unaudited): KZT 46.67T (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2026-08) S7
- Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.
- Staff: Group headcount of 254,049 in 2025 S3
- Size over time (KZT trillion): 2024 41.113, 2025 44.243 S3
Leadership
| Name | Title | Since |
|---|---|---|
| Olzhas Bektenov | Chairman of the Board; Prime Minister S8 | 2024-02 |
| Nurlan Zhakupov | Chairman of the Management Board S4 | 2023-04-04 |
| Aidar Ryskulov | Managing Director, Economics and Finance S4 | Not published |
| Saltanat Satzhan | Managing Director, Development and Privatisation S4 | Not published |
| Yelzhas Otynshiyev | Managing Director, Strategy and Asset Management S4 | Not published |
| Bakhytzhan Taubayev | Managing Director, Strategy and Asset Management S4 | Not published |
| Nikolai Kazutin | Managing Director, Legal Support and Risks S4 | Not published |
| Ablaikhan Ospanov | Managing Director, Digitalisation S4 | Not published |
| Bolat Zhamishev | Independent director S3 | 2022-07 |
| Luca Sutera | Independent director S3 | Not published |
| Mohamed Jameel Al Ramahi | Independent director S3 | Not published |
| Wong Heang Fine | Independent director S3 | 2024-10 |
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Law on the National Welfare Fund and the fund's charter; Code of Corporate Governance of 2023, amended in 2024 S3
- Oversight: Government of Kazakhstan as sole shareholder, through a board chaired by the Prime Minister S3
- Auditor: PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Almaty S3
- The 2024 code changes reinforce non-interference in operations and recommend up to 60 percent independent directors on portfolio boards. S3
- Has an ombudsman, compliance service and internal audit, which PwC reviews independently. S3
- Reported a top transparency rating in 2017 and hosted the IFSWF annual meeting that year. S11
Transparency score: 8.5 of 10 (band 5 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2008-10 | Samruk and Kazyna merged by decree. S1 |
| 2012 | First Code of Corporate Governance. S3 |
| 2017-09 | Hosts the IFSWF annual meeting in Astana. S11 |
| 2023-03-17 | Development Plan to 2032 approved. S3 |
| 2023-04-04 | Nurlan Zhakupov becomes CEO. S4 |
| 2024-02 | Prime Minister Olzhas Bektenov becomes chairman. S3 |
| 2025-09-26 | AI system SKAI joins the board. S3 |
| 2025-11 | US deals including the Boeing order and tungsten project. S5 |
| 2025-12-30 | KazNPP handed to the state. S3 |
| 2026-09-09 | CEO reports 2026 and 2027 to 2029 project plans to the President. S6 |
For family offices
There is no programme for private investors. Outsiders can buy listed group companies, join privatisations and IPOs, or partner on projects as strategic co-investors. S3 S5
Reports
- Annual Report 2025: https://sk.kz/ar2025/download/SamrukKazyna_AR2025_EN.pdf S3
Common questions
How big is Samruk-Kazyna?
Audited group assets were KZT 44.2 trillion at end 2025, about USD 87.5 billion at the official rate. S3
Who runs Samruk-Kazyna?
Nurlan Zhakupov chairs the Management Board. Prime Minister Olzhas Bektenov chairs the Board of Directors. S4 S8
Which companies does it own?
KazMunayGas 67.42 percent, Kazatomprom 62.99 percent, Kazakhtelecom 80.85 percent, KEGOC 85 percent, and all of KTZ, QazaqGaz, Samruk-Energy and Kazpost. S3
How can foreign investors take part?
As minority co-investment partners on projects, or by buying listed subsidiaries and future IPOs. S3
Related profiles
- Danantara Indonesia Indonesia · About USD 900B to USD 1T (unaudited), estimate
- Temasek Holdings Singapore · S$518B
- Permodalan Nasional Berhad (PNB) Malaysia · RM365.3B
- Khazanah Nasional Berhad Malaysia · RM156B
- Beijing State-owned Assets Management Co., Ltd. China (Beijing) · RMB 171.92B total assets
- Tamilnadu Industrial Development Corporation Ltd (TIDCO) India (Tamil Nadu) · INR 103,607 crore
All sovereign wealth funds in Asia · All state holding companys · All funds in Kazakhstan
Sources
- S1Wikipedia, Samruk-Kazyna
- S2IFSWF, members list
- S3Samruk-Kazyna, Annual Report 2025 with audited IFRS statements
- S4Samruk-Kazyna, Management Board (Russian)
- S5Euronews, inside Samruk-Kazyna, interview with the CEO
- S6Samruk-Kazyna, CEO report to the President, 9 September 2026 (Russian)
- S7Stan.kz, Samruk-Kazyna first half 2026 results (Kazakh)
- S8Samruk-Kazyna, Board of Directors (Russian)
- S9Kursiv, Kazakhstan Railways aims for a USD 5B IPO
- S10Masdar, collaboration agreement with Samruk-Kazyna
- S11IFSWF, Samruk-Kazyna continues to make gains in transparency
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
