National Development and Social Fund (Malta)
Malta: what it invests in
Geography Domestic and global
Malta: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 0.995B. At 0.85106 euros per US dollar, ECB reference rate for 31 December 2025.
Malta: what it publishes
Published 9 · Partly 1 · Not published 0
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. Malta's National Development and Social Fund invests a share of citizenship programme revenue for long-term returns and national development and social projects. Net assets were EUR 846.7 million (about USD 995 million) at end 2025 after a record EUR 30.5 million profit. Roughly 70 percent sits in a Directed Portfolio of Maltese securities and projects; 30 percent is run by the Central Bank of Malta. S3 S4
Key points
- Net assets EUR 846.7 million at 31 December 2025, up from EUR 772.3 million. S3
- Record net profit of EUR 30.5 million in 2025. S3
- EUR 836.5 million received from citizenship programmes since 2015, including EUR 50.4 million in 2025. S3
- Directed Portfolio of EUR 500.5 million: Maltese listed securities, Malta Government Stocks and foreign Treasury bills. S3
- Discretionary portfolios of EUR 316.8 million run by the Central Bank of Malta and sub-managers. S3
- About EUR 41 million committed to national sport facilities and EUR 10 million to primary healthcare. S3
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
Earn sustainable real returns while preserving capital, follow the Santiago Principles, and support development and social initiatives of national importance for present and future generations. S5
How it invests
| Industries | Financial services, Sports, entertainment and gaming, Healthcare and life sciences, Infrastructure and utilities S3 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Public equities, Fixed income, Cash and money markets, Strategic state holdings S3 |
| Stages | Public markets, Credit S3 |
| Geography | Domestic and global. Heavily Maltese; the Board is adding foreign securities to offset local exposure S3 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / No S9 S10 |
| Ticket size | No ticket range is published. S3 |
| Deal sizes seen | EUR 10M (healthcare programme) to EUR 40M (BOV bonds, 2025) |
| External managers | Central Bank of Malta, with Allianz Global Investors and Bank of Valletta Asset Management S3 |
| Co-investment programme | None published S3 |
Asset mix: Directed Portfolio 60.4%, CBM/Allianz global bond and equity 16.3%, CBM/BOVAM local active income 11.2%, CBM global fixed income 6.2%, CBM/BOVAM global equity 4.5%, Unallocated 1.4% (as of 2025-12-31) S3
Published criteria
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Bank of Valletta 5% subordinated bonds. Bought in two tranches, maturing 2030 to 2035. S3 | Direct investment | Financial services | Credit | EUR 40M | |
| 2025 | Malta Government Stock. 2030, 2035 and 2040 maturities; MGS holdings total EUR 238.7M. S3 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | EUR 35M nominal | |
| Not published | National Multi-purpose Motorsports Hub, Hal Far. Strategic sport initiative. S3 | Direct investment | Sports, entertainment and gaming | Not stated | Part of about EUR 41M for sport | |
| Not published | Malta Football Association National Football Centre. Strategic sport initiative. S3 | Direct investment | Sports, entertainment and gaming | Not stated | Part of about EUR 41M for sport | |
| Not published | Primary Healthcare Upgrading Programme. About EUR 5.55M disbursed by end 2025. S3 | Direct investment | Healthcare and life sciences | Not stated | EUR 10M | |
| 2018 | CBM discretionary mandate. Global bond and equity, local income and global fixed income sleeves. S3 | Fund commitment | Multi-sector | Public markets | EUR 316.8M at end 2025 | |
| 2017 | Bank of Valletta plc. Listed equity stake in the bank. S3 | Direct investment | Financial services | Public markets | EUR 34.9M value at end 2025 | 2.88% |
Case studies
Backing national sport facilities S3
- What: The fund committed about EUR 41M to a motorsports hub at Hal Far and the National Football Centre, among others.
- When: Ongoing
- Size: About EUR 41M
- Why: Its mandate covers social and development projects of national importance.
- Outcome: Commitments carried in the Directed Portfolio.
Diversifying away from Malta S3
- What: The fund added foreign Treasury bills and grew its global mandates with the Central Bank.
- When: 2024 to 2025
- Size: EUR 316.8M discretionary
- Why: To hedge its large exposure to the Maltese economy.
- Outcome: Discretionary assets rose from EUR 252.8M to EUR 316.8M in 2025.
Investment process
A seven-member Board of Governors approves investments and commitments, coordinating with Cabinet through the citizenship minister's office. An Advisory Board appointed by the Prime Minister is chaired by the CEO. S7 S3
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Governors | Seven members appointed by Cabinet; approves strategy and investments S7 |
| Advisory Board | Appointed by the Prime Minister; chaired by the CEO S7 |
- Programme proceeds are received. S3
- Board allocates between Directed and Discretionary portfolios. S3
- Directed deals and social commitments are approved by the Board. S3
- Audited accounts are laid before Parliament. S7
How to approach: No public intake process; contact via the fund's website. S1
Size and returns
- Headline size: EUR 846.7M (Net assets or equity, as of 2025-12-31) S3 S4
- In US dollars: about USD 0.995B. At 0.85106 euros per US dollar, ECB reference rate for 31 December 2025.
- Total assets, December 2025: EUR 847.9M (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2025-12-31) S3
- Programme proceeds since 2015: EUR 836.5M (Committed or authorised capital, as of 2025-12-31) S3
- Return, 2025, CBM/Allianz mandate: 3.37 percent (benchmark 3.42 percent) S3
- Return, CBM/Allianz mandate since 4 September 2018: 1.8 percent a year (one external mandate only) S3
- Size over time (EUR million): 2024 772.34, 2025 846.74 S3 S6
Leadership
| Name | Title | Since |
|---|---|---|
| Kurt Farrugia | Chairman, Board of Governors S3 | 2026-07-01 |
| Joseph M Zrinzo | Deputy Chairman S3 | Not published |
| John Bencini | Board member S3 | Not published |
| Maria Camilleri | Board member S3 | Not published |
| Monica Farrugia | Board member S3 | Not published |
| James Grech | Board member S3 | Not published |
| Joseph Brincat | Board member S3 | Not published |
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Individual Investor Programme Regulations (S.L. 188.03) and S.L. 595.12 giving separate legal personality S1
- Oversight: Cabinet, through the citizenship minister; accounts laid before the House of Representatives by the Finance Minister S7
- Auditor: PricewaterhouseCoopers S3
- New HR and conflict of interest policies approved in 2025. S3
- Board is reviewing the legal framework as the fund evolves toward a sovereign wealth fund. S3
Transparency score: 9.5 of 10 (band 5 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
For family offices
A Maltese state fund investing mainly in local securities and national projects through Board-approved deals. No co-investment programme is published. S3
Reports
- Annual Report 2025: https://ndsf.com.mt/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/NDSF_Annual-Report_2025.pdf S3
- Reports 2016 to 2025: https://ndsf.com.mt/annual-reports-and-financial-statements/ S8
Common questions
How big is the NDSF?
EUR 846.7 million of net assets at end 2025, about USD 995 million. S3 S4
Who chairs it?
Kurt Farrugia, since 1 July 2026. S3
Where does the money come from?
A share of revenue from Malta's citizenship programmes. S3
Is it an IFSWF member?
No. S2
Related profiles
- Bpifrance France · EUR 106.3B
- National Wealth Fund United Kingdom · GBP 27.8B
- Ireland Strategic Investment Fund (ISIF) Ireland · EUR 16.1B
- Espana Crece (ICO programme) Spain · EUR 13.3B
- CDP Equity S.p.A. Italy · EUR 12.44B total assets
- Polish Development Fund (PFR) Poland · PLN 49.77B
All sovereign wealth funds in Europe · All strategic development funds · All funds in Malta
Sources
- S1NDSF, About us
- S2IFSWF, members list
- S3NDSF, Annual Report and Financial Statements 2025
- S4Frankfurter (ECB reference rates), USD/EUR 31 December 2025
- S5NDSF, Investment Strategy
- S6NDSF, Annual Report 2024
- S7NDSF, Governance
- S8NDSF, Annual reports and financial statements
- S9NDSF, Directed Portfolio
- S10NDSF, Discretionary Portfolio
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
