Brunei Investment Agency (BIA)
BIA: what it invests in
Geography Global
BIA: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: Press estimates range from USD 35B to USD 78B; none comes from an official source.
BIA: what it publishes
Published 1 · Partly 1 · Not published 8
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. The Brunei Investment Agency manages Brunei's General Reserve Fund and the government's external assets, built from oil and gas surpluses since 1983. It does not publish its size; published estimates range from USD 35 billion to USD 78 billion. Known holdings include the Dorchester Collection luxury hotels, about 20 percent of Bridgewater Associates and a stake in Bank Islam Brunei Darussalam. S1 S3 S4
Key points
- Took over management of the reserves in 1983; before that they were run by the British Crown Agents. S3
- Bought a stake of nearly 20 percent in the holding company of Bridgewater Associates in 2025, after years as a client of its funds. S4 S5
- Sole owner of the Dorchester Collection, which includes The Dorchester, The Beverly Hills Hotel and Hotel Plaza Athenee. S3
- Acquired Fajr Capital's 29.73 percent of Bank Islam Brunei Darussalam in January 2020. S6
- Has separate Public Market and Private Market investment teams. S7
- Published size estimates range from USD 35 billion to USD 78 billion, as no figures are released. S8 S3
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
Under section 4 of its Act the Agency holds and manages the General Reserve Fund and all external assets of the Government, at home and abroad, and provides money management services to the Government. S1
- Save oil and gas wealth to provide income for future generations. S3
- Shield the budget from swings in oil and gas prices. S3
- Hold and manage the General Reserve Fund and all government external assets. S1
- Act as financial agent of the Government, including for public loan issues, with the Sultan's approval. S1
- Safeguard national sovereignty through active reserve management, per its mission. S9
How it invests
| Industries | Financial services, Tourism and hospitality, Real estate, Technology S3 S4 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Public equities, Fixed income, Private equity, Real estate, Hedge funds and absolute return, Commodities and gold, Cash and money markets S1 S7 |
| Stages | Public markets, Buyout, Real estate, Growth S7 S3 |
| Geography | Global. Mainly external assets; domestic diversification sits with other state bodies S1 S8 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / Not published S7 S4 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size is published. S1 |
| Deal sizes seen | USD 85M (The Dorchester, 1985) to a nearly 20% stake in Bridgewater (2025) |
| External managers | Uses outside managers; it is reported to remain an investor in all Bridgewater funds S4 |
| Co-investment programme | No co-investment programme is published S1 |
Largest holdings: Dorchester Collection (100%), Bridgewater Associates (holding company) (20%), Bank Islam Brunei Darussalam (dates from 2020-01-16 to 2026-06-11) S3 S4 S6
Published criteria
- The Act allows gold and precious metals, property, bank balances, treasury bills, approved government and supranational securities, and other assets the Board authorises in a written guideline. S1
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount | Stake |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 1 Mayfair, London. Dorchester Collection won the management rights for the residential project. S3 | Joint venture or partnership | Real estate | Real estate | Not published | |
| 2025 | Bridgewater Associates. Took nearly 20 percent of the holding company, turning a fund client relationship into ownership. S4 S5 | Direct investment | Financial services | Growth | Not published | 20% |
| 2024 | The Lana, Dubai. Dorchester Collection hotel opened in 2024. S3 | New company or platform | Tourism and hospitality | Real estate | Not published | |
| 2020 | Bank Islam Brunei Darussalam. Bought Fajr Capital's 29.73 percent stake. S6 | Direct investment | Financial services | Not stated | Not published | 29.73% |
| 1996 | Dorchester Collection. Hotel group formed to hold its luxury hotels in Europe and North America. S3 | New company or platform | Tourism and hospitality | Real estate | Not published | 100% |
| Not published | The Beverly Hills Hotel. Held through the Dorchester Collection. S3 | Direct investment | Tourism and hospitality | Real estate | Not published | |
| Not published | Hotel Plaza Athenee, Paris. Held through the Dorchester Collection. S3 | Direct investment | Tourism and hospitality | Real estate | Not published | |
| 1985 | The Dorchester, London. First landmark overseas purchase. S3 | Direct investment | Tourism and hospitality | Real estate | USD 85M |
Case studies
From fund client to owner of Bridgewater S4 S5
- What: Turned a long-held position in Bridgewater funds into a stake of nearly 20 percent in the firm's holding company.
- When: 2025
- Size: Nearly 20 percent stake
- Why: Moves from paying fees as a client to sharing in the manager's own economics.
- Outcome: Reported to stay invested in all Bridgewater funds.
Building a hotel group from one London landmark S3
- What: Bought The Dorchester, then grouped its luxury hotels into the Dorchester Collection.
- When: 1985 to 1996, expanding to 2025
- Size: USD 85M for The Dorchester
- Why: Long-term trophy real estate with operating income.
- Outcome: Collection now spans London, Paris, Los Angeles and Dubai, plus residential management in Mayfair.
Investment process
A Board, chaired by the Sultan per reference sources, sets policy, meets at least every three months with a quorum of three and issues written investment guidelines. The Managing Director runs operations; the Sultan may end any director's appointment. S1 S3
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Board of Directors | Policy, general administration and written investment guidelines S1 |
- The Board sets the allowed asset classes in a written investment guideline. S1
- Public Market and Private Market teams invest, supported by risk, compliance, legal and audit. S7
- Accounts are audited every year and sent with a Board report to the Sultan in Council within six months. S1
How to approach: No intake process or partner programme is published. The Ministry of Finance and Economy page carries the contact details. S9 S1
Size and returns
- Headline size: Not disclosed (Published estimate, as of 2026-06-16) S8
- In US dollars: Press estimates range from USD 35B to USD 78B; none comes from an official source.
- Range of published estimates: USD 35B to USD 78B (Published estimate, as of 2026-06-16) S8
- Earlier estimate, 2018: USD 39B (Published estimate, as of 2018-07-31) S11
- Returns: the fund does not publish a return figure.
Leadership
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Brunei Investment Agency Act, Chapter 137, in force 1 July 1983, amended 2017 to 2019 S1
- Oversight: Reports to the Ministry of Finance and Economy; annual audited accounts and Board report go to the Sultan in Council S1
- Auditor: Auditor General or an auditor appointed by the Sultan S1
- Directors must declare interests in contracts or investments. S1
- Section 12 binds directors and staff to keep the Agency's affairs confidential. S1
- Not an IFSWF member. S2
Transparency score: 1.5 of 10 (band 1 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 1983-07-01 | Act in force; General Reserve Fund transferred to the Agency. S1 |
| 1985 | Buys The Dorchester, London, for USD 85M. S3 |
| 1996 | Forms the Dorchester Collection. S3 |
| 2018-07 | Haji Sofian bin Mohammad Jani named acting Managing Director. S11 |
| 2020-01 | Buys 29.73 percent of Bank Islam Brunei Darussalam. S6 |
| 2024 | The Lana opens in Dubai. S3 |
| 2025-08 | Takes nearly 20 percent of Bridgewater's holding company. S5 |
For family offices
The Agency publishes no programme or co-investment route for private capital, and its Act limits disclosure. Its public deals show a taste for trophy hotels, banking and stakes in asset managers it already uses. S1 S4 S3
Reports
- Brunei Investment Agency Act (Chapter 137): https://faolex.fao.org/docs/pdf/bru223770E.pdf S1
Common questions
How big is the Brunei Investment Agency?
It does not publish its size. Published estimates range from USD 35 billion to USD 78 billion. S3 S8
Who runs the BIA?
Haji Sofian bin Mohammad Jani, Acting Managing Director since July 2018. S10
What does the BIA own?
The Dorchester Collection hotels, nearly 20 percent of Bridgewater Associates and a stake in Bank Islam Brunei Darussalam, among others. S3
Does it publish accounts?
No. Audited accounts go to the Sultan in Council within six months of year end. S1
Related profiles
- National Fund of the Republic of Kazakhstan Kazakhstan · USD 73.8B
- State Oil Fund of the Republic of Azerbaijan (SOFAZ) Azerbaijan · USD 72.6B
- Hong Kong Future Fund Hong Kong SAR, China · HK$235.1B
- Kumpulan Wang Amanah Negara (National Trust Fund) Malaysia · RM22.43B (end 2024)
- Chinggis Khaan Sovereign Wealth Fund (Mongolia) Mongolia · MNT 7.5T
- Sarawak Sovereign Wealth Future Fund Malaysia (Sarawak) · RM 8.6B
All sovereign wealth funds in Asia · All savings and future generations funds · All funds in Brunei Darussalam
Sources
- S1Brunei Investment Agency Act, Chapter 137 (revised 2019), via FAOLEX
- S2IFSWF, members list
- S3Wikipedia, Brunei Investment Agency (revision of 11 June 2026)
- S4Asia Asset Management, BIA buys nearly 20 percent of Bridgewater, 7 August 2025
- S5Bloomberg, Brunei turns Bridgewater fund holding into a 20 percent firm stake, 1 August 2025
- S6BizBrunei, BIA acquires 29.7 percent of BIBD from Fajr Capital, 16 January 2020
- S7Ministry of Finance and Economy, BIA departments
- S8Stratsea, Brunei's ticking fiscal clocks, 16 June 2026
- S9Ministry of Finance and Economy, BIA mission and vision
- S10Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Foundation, Wadah bulletin no. 90 (Malay)
- S11Asia Asset Management, BIA names acting Managing Director, 31 July 2018
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
