British International Investment (BII)
BII: what it invests in
Geography Regional
BII: how big it is, and on what basis
In US dollars: about USD 8.94B. Converted at GBP 0.74264 per US dollar on 31 December 2025.
BII: what it publishes
Published 8 · Partly 2 · Not published 0
Our 10 item score. It measures what is public, not how well a fund is run.
At a glance. BII is the UK's development finance institution and impact investor, wholly owned by the government. It invests in businesses and funds in Africa, Asia and the Caribbean. Its portfolio was worth GBP 6.64 billion at end 2025, about USD 8.9 billion, within total net assets of GBP 9.88 billion. It committed GBP 1.8 billion in 2025 through equity, debt, funds and guarantees. S3 S4
Key points
- Committed GBP 1.8 billion in 2025: GBP 1.1 billion in Africa and GBP 712 million in Asia. S3
- Holds 247 funds with 161 managers plus 284 direct investments. S3
- Three portfolios: Growth (GBP 5.64 billion), Catalyst (GBP 923 million) and Kinetic for concessional capital. S3
- Climate finance reached 43 percent of commitments, against a 30 percent target for 2022 to 2026. S3
- Committed up to GBP 250 million to Ukraine through a platform launched with the EBRD in 2024. S3
- Recycles capital by exiting mature assets, such as Ayana Renewable Power in India and Kenhardt in South Africa. S3
Interesting facts
Mandate and goals
BII invests to build productive, sustainable and inclusive economies in Africa, Asia and the Caribbean, judging each deal on development impact and on commercial success. S3
- Productive development: raise economic productivity to support decent living standards. S3
- Sustainable development: help economies cut emissions and adapt to climate change. S3
- Inclusive development: share gains with poor and marginalised groups, including through gender-lens investing. S3
- Mobilise private and domestic capital alongside its own. S3
- Return target: No fixed return target; success is measured by impact and commercial sustainability. S3
How it invests
| Industries | Renewables and climate, Infrastructure and utilities, Financial services, Healthcare and life sciences, Telecoms and media, Agriculture and food security, Transport and logistics, Technology S3 |
|---|---|
| Asset classes | Private equity, Venture capital, Private credit, Infrastructure, Cash and money markets S3 |
| Stages | Venture, Growth, Buyout, Infrastructure, Credit S3 |
| Geography | Regional. Africa and Asia, with a recent move into South-East Asia and a separate Ukraine sleeve S3 |
| Direct / through funds / co-invest | Yes / Yes / Yes S3 |
| Ticket size | No ticket size is published. S3 |
| External managers | Commits to funds run by 161 managers S3 |
| Co-investment programme | Works with other DFIs, global asset managers and local pension funds S3 |
Asset mix: Growth Portfolio 84.9%, Catalyst Portfolio 13.9%, Kinetic and Ukraine 0.6%, Hedging contracts 0.6% (as of 2025-12-31) S3
Published criteria
Past investments
| Year | Investment | Type | Sector | Stage | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | Ukraine Investment Platform. Phased commitment with the EBRD for agriculture, green infrastructure, energy and finance. S3 | Co-investment | Agriculture and food security | Not stated | Up to GBP 250M |
| 2025 | Acumen Hardest to Reach fund. Fund widening access to affordable renewable power where electricity access can be as low as 12 percent. S3 | Fund commitment | Renewables and climate | Venture | Not published |
| 2025 | Ayana Renewable Power. Exit from a utility-scale renewable platform after backing it through early risk. S3 | Sale or exit | Renewables and climate | Infrastructure | Not published |
| 2025 | Kenhardt solar project. Exit from a utility-scale renewable project, freeing capital to redeploy. S3 | Sale or exit | Renewables and climate | Infrastructure | Not published |
| Not published | WorldLink Communications. Broadband provider that grew past one million customers, widening competition. S3 | Direct investment | Telecoms and media | Growth | Not published |
| 2025 | NAPSA and PIC partnerships. Partnerships with national pension investors to mobilise domestic capital. S3 | Co-investment | Financial services | Not stated | Not published |
| 2004 | Actis. Spun out its emerging markets private equity team as Actis and anchored its third fund. S1 | New company or platform | Financial services | Buyout | USD 650M to Actis fund III |
Case studies
Recycling capital through renewable exits S3
- What: BII backed Ayana Renewable Power in India and Kenhardt in South Africa, then exited once they could raise market finance.
- When: 2025
- Size: Not published
- Why: Exits prove commercial viability and free DFI capital for new markets.
- Outcome: Capital redeployed into new commitments.
Ukraine Investment Platform with the EBRD S3
- What: A phased commitment of up to GBP 250M to support reconstruction, backed by GBP 60M of capital.
- When: From 2024
- Size: Up to GBP 250M
- Why: Back sectors critical to recovery: farming, green infrastructure, energy and finance.
Investment process
The board sets strategy and oversees investment through its committees. Each deal is assessed with BII's Impact Framework and scored on impact and commercial prospects. S3
| Committee | Role |
|---|---|
| Audit and Compliance Committee | Oversees reporting and compliance S3 |
| Risk Committee | Oversees risk S3 |
| Nominations Committee | Board appointments S3 |
| People Development and Remuneration Committee | Pay and talent S3 |
- Originate deals through the Growth, Catalyst or Kinetic portfolio. S3
- Assess impact with the Impact Framework and an Impact Score. S3
- Agree an action plan for investees to meet responsible investing standards. S3
- Provide hands-on support, then exit when commercial capital can take over. S3
How to approach: The BII website explains how to submit an investment proposal. S6
Size and returns
- Headline size: GBP 6,641.2M (Portfolio value, as of 2025-12-31) S3
- In US dollars: about USD 8.94B. Converted at GBP 0.74264 per US dollar on 31 December 2025.
- Total net assets: GBP 9,879.9M (Net assets or equity, as of 2025-12-31) S3
- Net cash and short-term deposits: GBP 1,758.7M (Total assets (balance sheet), as of 2025-12-31) S3
- Staff: Not stated in the sections used S3
- Size over time (GBP million): 2024 7,291.2, 2025 6,641.2 S3
Leadership
Governance and transparency
- Legal basis: Public limited company under the Commonwealth Development Corporation Act 1999, wholly owned by the UK Government S1
- Oversight: Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office as shareholder S1 S3
- Auditor: Independent auditor; 2025 accounts approved on 16 April 2026 S3
- Not an IFSWF member. S2
- Policy on Responsible Investing applies to all investees. S3
Transparency score: 9.0 of 10 (band 5 of 5). Our own 10-item rubric; see the methodology page.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 1948 | Colonial Development Corporation founded. S1 |
| 1963 | Renamed Commonwealth Development Corporation. S1 |
| 1999 | Converted into CDC Group plc. S1 |
| 2004 | Actis spun out. S1 |
| 2011 | Refocused on South Asia and sub-Saharan Africa; direct investing resumed. S1 |
| 2022 | Renamed British International Investment; 2022 to 2026 strategy begins. S1 S3 |
| 2024 | Ukraine Investment Platform launched with the EBRD. S3 |
| 2025 | GBP 1.8B committed. S3 |
For family offices
BII does not take private investors, but it often anchors emerging market funds and works with asset managers to bring in new capital. Families can invest alongside it as fellow LPs in those funds. S3
Reports
- Annual Report and Accounts 2025: https://assets.bii.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/26153150/BII_Annual-Review-Accounts-2025.pdf S3
- Annual Review 2025: financial performance: https://ar2025.bii.co.uk/investments/our-financial-performance/ S5
Common questions
How big is BII?
Portfolio of GBP 6.64 billion and total net assets of GBP 9.88 billion at end 2025. S3
Who leads BII?
Leslie Maasdorp is CEO and Diana Layfield is Chair. S3
Who owns BII?
The UK Government, through the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office. S1
Where does it invest?
Africa, Asia and the Caribbean, plus a Ukraine sleeve. S3
Is BII an IFSWF member?
No. It is not on the IFSWF members list. S2
Related profiles
- Bpifrance France · EUR 106.3B
- National Wealth Fund United Kingdom · GBP 27.8B
- Ireland Strategic Investment Fund (ISIF) Ireland · EUR 16.1B
- Espana Crece (ICO programme) Spain · EUR 13.3B
- CDP Equity S.p.A. Italy · EUR 12.44B total assets
- Polish Development Fund (PFR) Poland · PLN 49.77B
All sovereign wealth funds in Europe · All strategic development funds · All funds in United Kingdom
Sources
Disclaimer
Informational only. SovereignWealthFunds.com is an independent public-source reference. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by any fund named on it, and it is not investment, legal or tax advice. Figures are as of the dates shown next to them and may have changed; please read each fund's official pages, linked on its profile. To report an error, use the contact page. Copyright SovereignWealthFunds.com. All rights reserved.
